We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage, with amazing location”
other travellers have booked this property
Acorn Cottage nestled between two valleys - walks/bike rides for all abilities from the door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Acorn Cottage nestled between two valleys - walks/bike rides for all abilities from the door
Acorn Cottage with Cathedral Quarry, Lingmoor and the Langdale Pikes behing Find all you could ever need in our well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Acorn Cottage nestled between two valleys - walks/bike rides for all abilities from the door
Acorn Cottage with Cathedral Quarry, Lingmoor and the Langdale Pikes behing
Find all you could ever need in our well equipped kitchen
We will welcome you with tea, coffee, milk and biscuits - enjoy!
Snuggle by the log burner or exit on to the patio to enjoy the view
A range of DVDs, books and games for you to enjoy
A wide range of maps for walking/cycling and local interest books
King bedroom - co-ordinated comfort with a view over the garden
The double - light and so very comfy
The single - cosy and peaceful
The shower room - sparkling
The bathroom - clean and fresh
Relax in the sun and watchout for red squirrels, woodpeckers, deer and more. Garden to right of path
Our central Lakeland location makes an ideal base for touring
The tarn with Holme Fell behind - 360 views from the top!!
Famous for its beauty Tarn Hows is a short walk from the cottage
Slaters Bridge, Little Langdale - a short walk with fantastic views all the way!
Tom Gill Waterfalls at Tarn Hows - a short walk from the cottage
Just called in for a picnic!
Enjoy the views from the bottom of the garden - sheep roam freely!
Parking for two cars
Coniston water - sailing, row boats, canoeing, electric boats and a steam gondola!
Relax by the shores of Coniston water
Coniston - known for its friendly locals and pubs - good food and locally brewed real ale
Ooh! Lovely......more nuts!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Coniston, Duddon Valley, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
501Kaz
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cottage, with amazing location”
Reviewed 12 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Best cottage we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in many. Thanks to Christine for preparing the cottage to a very high standard, and sharing it with us. What a find, and location was ideal with plenty of walks from the doorstep, 1 week was not long enough and already planning our return trip. Plenty of information in the visitors book, and can recommend The Three Shires for food, which is a nice walk from the cottage, and we also tried the Drunken Duck. Coniston is a short drive, or pleasant 6 mile walk, but the lane is a killer on the way back lol. Wildlife was amazing, during our week we saw Red squirrels, woodpeckers, rabbits, deer, peregrine falcon which are nesting nearby. It was great to return to cottage after a day out walking, to a nice hot bath, light the log fire, poor a glass of wine and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Shared patio area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2013
Well...you seem to have enjoyed yourselves as much as we do! Glad you found things as they should be. See you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLJ_0511
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 6 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We have just returned from Acorn Cottage and have had a brilliant time! The cottage is lovely and in a brilliant location. The cottage was spotless and had everything we could need. We are hooked and have just booked again for next year!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2013
Really glad you enjoyed the cottage and are as "hooked" as I am!!! See you next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErwinSmit
Netherlands
1 review
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The cottage was spotless. The beds were great, comfiest beds I ever slept on. Everything you ever want is in the inventory. Location is great as well, with loads of good walks from the doorstep. The cathedral quarry walk is a great find. And it's still quite close to Coniston, where you have a few small shops and pubs.

The price is really good, in comparison with B&B's and other cottages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beds, location, clean, character
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2013
So glad you, and your family, enjoyed yourselves and had a good explore! It's always a delight to know the cottage lives up to expectations. Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola D
York
2 reviews
“Very dog friendly, lovely stay”
Reviewed 12 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We had a lovely time at Acorn cottage, immaculate bathrooms and gorgeous bedrooms with the cosiest beds. We had two dogs in tow and it was so nice to be able to walk out the front door and find so many walks-and be central for so many attractions too. Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2013
Really glad everyone had such a great time and you all loved our amazing location! We always think it is such a bonus to be able to walk from the door - especially when you have pets (and/or children for that matter)!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perce43
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing location for exploring the beauty of the southern lakes”
Reviewed 12 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Wow what a location, the cottage is set up a hill, next door to a slate mine, which allows the cottage to have a tranquil and picturesque setting. We found sheep and deer roam freely outside the door. The cottage itself is superbly equipped and finished to a high standard. We especially looked forward to coming back to the wood burning stove after a days hiking.
There are an abundance of walks and mountain bike trails from outside the front door. Coniston is only 3 miles away for some lovely pubs and cafes, the majority of which are dog friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Away from it all location
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2013
So glad you enjoyed the cottage, setting and wild life! Lovely to know you were lucky enough to see the deer!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TruthToTe...
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THIS IS THE COTTAGE YOU’RE LOOKING FOR!”
Reviewed 13 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Search no further…superb find! Only those knowing the area will find Acorn Cottage, lying in a serene location in the peace and beauty of the fells outside Coniston. There was enchantment as we first drove up the lane to the cottage, bringing fresh views at every turn. This choice secluded spot is so easy to reach but no one will come your way unless they’re off to explore the dramatic slate quarry and hike the area. (Each ride up and down, to and from the cottage took our attention and showed a view we’d missed.)

This charming quarryman’s cottage, one of a row, earlier one of Beatrix Potter’s finds, is extremely well-appointed. You’ll know that, from the welcome that awaits, from tea, milk, real homemade cookies – to every thoughtful utensil, careful room appointments, kindling for a warming fire and cleanliness throughout. This is THE place. Lots of space for us 5 adults; nothing was cramped and storage in the bedrooms was plentiful. Great to find two spacious bathrooms! The Briggs’ know what it takes to make one comfortable and feel at home.

Walk to the old quarry; its sheer depth and beauty will amaze. Then, if nimble-footed find your way down a rocky path to the bottom and see the quarry from the bottom up. Divers may be practicing their skills. Walks abound and though a car is necessary to get around the Lake District, a cab could drop you and your supplies and leave you right there. With the sheep grazing in the hills and abundant plant life, Miss Potter would certainly have filled a week studying and drawing.

Coniston has everything you need, including a marvelous little café (Green Housekeeper Café) just right for lunch; a bowl of soup, hunks of bread, sandwiches and so on. (Good to find a
Co-op and a renowned butcher with an old store packed with many good products.)

The Drunken Duck pub should be on your list for a visit. This was the choice for our special meal out.

One needs many stays here. In addition to fell walks here are a few places we visited: Beatrix Potter’s house, Hill Top, and Near and Far Sawrey; Tarn Howes; John Ruskin’s estate and home, Brantwood, which is full of his life’s work, furniture and treasures; the fascinating old grammar school in Hawkshead which Wordsworth attended. In Hawkshead we found the Beatrix Potter Gallery. The National Trust had a stunning exhibition of Beatrix Potter’s original work. We visited the theater at Keswick where one can take a meal before a noteworthy show.

We would return next year if we had the chance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Cottage plus all that it offered. Ambiance. Beauty of Area.
Liked least: Nothing was
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2012
Wow! When you rang to say you had had a good time I guess you really meant it!! Glad you loved EVERYTHING as much as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect !”
Reviewed 12 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Myself & my partner have just returned from a lovely weekend at the acorn cottage. From the moment i enquired until the moment we left the Briggs family were a fantastic help with any questions and queries we had. The cottage itself is set in a beautiful location with fantastic views and walks on the door step and within easy reach of many others. The cottage is spotless and comfortable, equipped with everything you could ever need for your stay and the shortbread upon arrival were delicious. We hope to return soon with our bikes for another memorable stay at this fantastic cottage. The only negative i have about our stay is that is wasn't a longer break !! Thank You

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: too many to list
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2012
Many, many thanks for your lovely comments.....it means a lot! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$162
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing