We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Yewdale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Yewdale Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“simply excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights, very comfortable room (No2), half a good view, next door plus the fells, bathroom dated, but are to be replaced through the winter when they're closed.
Excellent breakfasts, good honest pub grub, good range of beers and wines, management and staff very friendly and helpful.
Definitely recommend this establishment

Room Tip: Just ask for one facing the fells
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAPPYBNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    84
    11
    8
    10
See reviews for
49
145
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
barrow-in-furness
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stopped off for an evening meal with relatives. They ordered steak and stilton pie which they thoroughly enjoyed. I had fish, chips, peas and lovely thick tasty chips. The fish was enormous, cooked to perfection and I enjoyed every mouthful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAddict5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed Bank holiday weekend. The room was cosy and had a lovely view of Yewdale Fell. The bathroom was dated but it all worked perfectly. Great breakfast. Good honest "pub food" at lunchtime. Beer good and they serve a grand G&T. The manager was very helpful and all staff extremely pleasant. Location of the Yewdale is spot on as you can do many walks, to varying degrees of difficulty, from the door. Coniston itself is fab. Really pretty. We would definitely go again to the Yewdale.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ameliarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Called in for a drink and was so impressed with the quality of service and friendliness, we decided to stay for a two night break over the weekend. The hotel is situated in the heart of the lovely village of Coniston. Our room was comfortable with a 4 poster and the bathroom with bath and shower was squeaky clean if a little dated. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We spent two nights at the Yewdale hotel in one of their family rooms. The owners and staff are very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of Coniston and is clean and traditional. Our family room at the front of the hotel gave us a wonderful view of the Old Man of Coniston.
Parking at the front of the hotel is limited to about four cars. However it's managed well by the owners as guests out walking can just leave their car keys at reception and staff will move the car if it's blocking in other guests. This might not be to everyones liking but we thought it was practical and sensible. There is alternative free parking about 200 yards from the hotel in a nearby country lane.
We did not have an evening meal on site but the breakfast was excellent. We had a problem with the shower on our first morning but once we brought it to the attention of the owner he quickly fixed it himself whilst we had breakfast. The hotel could probably benefit from a few more members of staff to help out at busy times but that said the new owners managed admirably and we wish them luck for the future. We would certainly stay again at the Yewdale.

Room Tip: room 6 is a family room which overlooks the main street and coniston old man. wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marriners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Excellent hotel run by new owners who are really out to care for their guests. Stopped one night, had the evening meal which was again excellent, breakfast in the morning was a delight- yes I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Give them a ring !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunstun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

smashing location, clean rooms with comfy beds. the family that owns the hotel go out of there way for you, nothings any trouble. tasty breakfast, would defo go back, great stay, thankyou Yewdale hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 565Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.0 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
4.5 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeland House
Lakeland House
#1 of 15 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yewdale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yewdale Inn

Property: The Yewdale Inn
Address: 2 Yewdale Road, Coniston LA21 8DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yewdale Inn is a situated in the centre of Coniston and therefore central for the scenic delights of the Lake District. Built of local stone and slate in 1896, it was once part guest house and part bank. Eight centrally heated bedrooms with en suite, tv and tea-making facilities, provide comfortable, restful accommodation, and an excellent Cumbrian breakfast starts the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Yewdale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yewdale Hotel Coniston
The Yewdale Inn Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing