We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit if you are hungry”

The Green Housekeeper Cafe
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit if you are hungry”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

After the fresh air of a trip on the Steam Yacht Gondola some sustenance was required. Having read the reviews we sought out this café for soup and a sandwich which arrived speedily and were very tasty. However the home-made cakes were irresistible so we had a pot of tea for two and a hot-cross sponge pudding each. Delicious and we were pleased we made the effort to come here. The staff were very pleasant too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StuB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    42
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Supper club is incredible”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We booked the supper club (fri, sat, sun) - and weren't disappointed. The food was absolutely lovely, the atmosphere was lovely and the service was friendly too. Couldn't recommend this place more highly. Oh, and it's bring your own bottle!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place to have a small celebration”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

we booked the supper club for 10 after our ceremony at brantwood it was a lovely cosy place with friendly staff we brought our own champagne cocktails and the evening was very special and they even let us have our desserts to go when we were all full from the large portions they serve maybe 2 courses would have been better for us

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JDonovan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cakes to die for”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had cake and coffee here after along walk, you get a large slice of cake and a good size cup of coffee.
We will call next time we are in coniston.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetloopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for a celebration”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I booked the Supper Club for 20 people as part of my friend's hen weekend and we had an absolutely fantastic time. The food was delicious and we were stuffed to bursting. Sarah and her team did a great job. They were efficient and friendly on the floor, but also had great attention to detail - decorating the tables for us, serving us each by name, and they even gave our hen a little gift. The whole evening was great value for money and I would recommend the Supper Club to anyone especially for that special occasion.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Housekeeper Cafe also viewed

Coniston, Duddon Valley
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 

Been to The Green Housekeeper Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing