We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blea Brows

Entering the courtyard!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entering the courtyard!
The new patio and garden furniture! View from the landing
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Entering the courtyard!
The new patio and garden furniture!
View from the landing
Double bedroom
Twin or double bedroom
Further twin or double
Sitting room
Sitting room - looking across to Brown Howe Cottage
Cosy woodburner!
Hallway
Kitchen
Kitchen table
View across the courtyard
Down by the lake
Lake shore beach
The lake shore in winter.  Not much beach but plenty of snow!
View down the lake - Fairfield
Wildcat Island!
Blawith Common beach to walk to!
...and the same view in the snow!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coniston, Duddon Valley, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
joanne a
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A wonderful, homely cottage in a great location for exploring. I was looking for the perfect place and found it in Blea Brows. Our dogs loved the garden and lake. Already recommended to friends and would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2014
Thank you so much for your delightful comment. It was very kind of you to be so complimentary. We like it, but it's always lovely when other people do too! Many thanks, also, for recommending it to your friends. You are, as a valued customer, entitled to a 10% discount for being such nice tenants! Thanks again, Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moosheep
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a one week stay here in October. The cottage is very well equiped, warm and cosy. The log burning stove is fab! It's set in the woods and it is very quiet, a great place to stay to get away from it all. A short drive or long-ish walk takes you into Coniston which has some great places to eat and drink. An ideal location for the Lake District, loads of walks round about.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2013
Thanks Anita. What a lovely comment. It's always reassuring when other people enjoy the cottage as much as we do. Certainly, this time of year the woodburner is essential and really adds to the cosiness. We appreciate you taking time to write a review and are always interested in people's opinions so that we can act on them if necessary. Thanks again, Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the lake
Liked least: No views from the house as you are in a wood.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Aug 2013
Wow! What a fabulous review. Thank you so much for your helpful comments. We really value the extra information you've given us about the Tesco delivery and BT Hotspots (not something that I know anything about!) and we'll definitely add that to the details. So pleased your holiday was a success. We'd love to see you there again. 10% off for returners! All the best, Phil and Kate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the cottage was so well stocked with decent kitchen equipment
Liked least: The midges!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jul 2013
Thanks for your kind (and generous) comments. We're very pleased that a) it was cosy with the fire (we agree ... it's always nice to have a fire!) and b) that the weather cheered up in the end! Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
North Cou...
northumberland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

a ice little cottage set in the middle of woodlands, a lovely woodburner, well equipt and very comfortable. The cottage is a short walk from the lake, a tip would be to take maps of the area for walks as a lot of the surrounding area is private. Coniston is aprox a 5mile from the cottage, there is a pub 2 mile from the cottage, but the road is busy and blind in places so don't try to walk this especially in the evening.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quietness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2013
Thanks for your constructive comments! We're always looking to make it as easy as possible for tenants. We'll certainly look into the map situation. I think the 'resident' maps may be past their best! Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanette...
herts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“cosy lakeside retreat”
Reviewed 20 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Blea brows is a lovely cottage tucked away from the hustle & bustle of normal hectic life. tastefully decorated, very clean & tidy, comfortable and equiped with everything you need. it has a lovely log burner that we made use of one night, not because it was particularly cold, but because it made it exta cosy. i would recommend this cottage for the reasons already mentioned, but particularly for the fact that you feel you are off the beaten track, although many attractions of the lakes can be easily accessed from here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy and very close proximaty to the lake. also well equiped
Liked least: if i was being picky, i wasnt to comforable that there was no telephone, & as there were no signals on any of our mobiles, im not sure what we would have done in the case of an emergency.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2013
Thanks Jeanette,

We're really pleased that you had a good stay! I agree with you - it's lovely to put the log burner on just to make it even more cosy! It is quiet too. It gives you a chance to catch up and recharge your batteries! I know we do when we go! Thanks again for a lovely review. Hope to see you again. Phil and Kate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Reviewed 11 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The secludedness of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Apr 2013
Wow! What a lovely review. Thank you so much for being so kind. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you did a lot of exploring! There is certainly a lot to see and do in the locality and we're delighted that you enjoyed it as much as we do! Thanks again, Phil and Kate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$108
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing