We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Week away in Coniston”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Genesys00
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Week away in Coniston”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Positives were:- 1) Location - you could walk around the corner to lovely pubs and shops, and 5-10 minutes to the lake which was perfect, 2) Price - the price was surprisingly cheap, 3) Bedroom - the bedroom is large, with a sofa and a firm bed. I don't mind a firm bed and slept very well (note: other reviewers commented on the room being light due to thin curtains, I am a poor sleeper but had no problems), 3) Living room - was spacious, with a TV, 2 seater sofa and chair. They were small and not the most comfy to sit and chill out on though, 4) Kitchen/Bathroom - are small but adequate and has everything you need, as does the bathroom. There were two negative points; 1) Smell - the place smells a little foisty (mainly in the entrance and kitchen area), 2) Heating - you need to put £1 coins into a meter for electricity, the electric heaters are not great; it was reasonably warm when we were there but needed to use the heaters on an evening and morning. I didn't mind paying (probably used £1 - £1.50 per day) but I would imagine out of season you would struggle to heat the place satisfactorily. All in all, a very good apartment for the price and location, a little bit damp/foisty, well worth the money but will probably pay more for additional comfort next time. Overall nice stay away from the tourist chaos of Bowness, Ambleside and Windermere, lots going on at lake Coniston to keep kids occupied and some great walks. (Suggestion - walk to Tarn Howes from the apartment, is approx. 6.5 mile round trip - head off towards Waterhead hotel, along the road then is sign posted from there).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal69...
1 review
“small,needs updateing,”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

close to centre, found it very cold, bed very hard,. rooms a bit dated, ok for a few days away, a week was to long

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet E
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location.”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Plus's = very central and convenient. Short walk to the lakeside and boat trips.
close to bus stop, close to good range of shops and restaurants. Clean and tidy. Kitchen well stocked with pans and utensils. Great having a designated parking spot. A good centre for walks and sightseeing.
Minus = we found the bed hard and uncomfortable - just personal taste perhaps. A pity that the largest and sunniest room was the bedroom, but it does have chairs .
Pernickity detail. -Curtains not thick enough to keep out early morning light, OK for early risers!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamer66...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious, welcoming and in the heart of the lovely village of Coniston.”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Flat was ready earlier than we expected. A real bonus after a long journey! It was spotlessly clean and the owners were friendly and helpful. During the stay, I was very impressed with how well equipped the kitchen was. Good quality pans for whipping up scrambled eggs for breakfast.

I have been visiting Coniston for over 30 years. So pleased to find a reasonably priced apartment to stay in my favourite Lake District village.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O3730DBcl...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay!”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Richmond House apartment 1 at the beginning of October and it was a brilliant apartment in a great location for all our adventures in Coniston and further afield. A cosy place to come back to after a long day, comfy lounge and fully equipped kitchen. The bedroom was light and warm, bed a little hard but after long walks it was what was needed! The only criticism we had is lack of instructions for the heating and electric...we are in our mid 20s and storage heaters and electric meters were new to us!! Just a little hint would be helpful! We used about a pound a day on the meter but didn't cook every night as had family close by.
Would recommend to anyone and will not hesitate to book again when we revisit Coniston next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianechri...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice apartment in perfect location.”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely large bedroom. Comfortable lounge and kitchen with a great cooker,. Really good parking. Really close to some excellent pubs and the walking is excellent right from the door. Wi fi brilliant and a very confortable bed which was great after a long days walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Weather was disappointing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart W
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great basic accommodation in a super location and great value”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Stayed here in September 2014 with wife and young daughter (18 months old). Accommodation was very clean and tidy and although furniture and decor was a bit dated in places it was in good condition and is all you could really expect at the excellent prices charged. Superb location within a very short walk of the village and great for getting around the whole of the Lakes. Parking great - a huge space. Kitchen / Diner was compact but good and well equipped. Bedroom was huge and comfortable. May not stay here in the depths of winter as it could probably get a bit cold (with a young daughter and now I'm getting on a bit I like a bit of warmth and comfort) but it would be ideal for Spring, Summer or Autumn. Curtains in the bedroom were a bit lightweight and there's a bright street light outside, so with a small child you may get woken early unless you bring a sheet / blackout blind. Steve was very helpful and supplied an extra chair for the kitchen area for our booster seat and would've supplied a travel cot or spare bed had we needed one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great Price
Liked least: Getting woken up early because of thin curtains in the bedroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing