We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage with fantastic views”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Thurston View Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Thurston View Cottage
Front bedroom
View from cottage
Coniston in winter
Coniston in winter from across the lake
Boating centre with electric, sailing and rowing boats for hire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tina B
Tyldesley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with fantastic views”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at the cottage for the May half term holiday, and it was a fab base for exploring the area.

The cottage is cosy and welcoming, was very clean and tidy when we arrived, and is pretty well equipped (we have stayed in self catering where less was provided).

I would not recommend this property to anybody with mobility problems, purely because it is at the top of a very steep hill, and the walk up could be hard for less fit or able travellers.

The local area is absolutely beautiful, and we will definitely come back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A charming updated miners cottage overlooking Coniston. Wonderful views from the sitting room and main bedroom

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
823france
Rennes, France
1 review
“Beautiful view of the lake in front of the house”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We liked very much the beautiful view of the lake from the living room and large bedroom.
Very nice also to see the birds at the windows of the kitchen.

It misted
- a colander for rice or pasta.
- a drain for the salad

The tapes of the kitchen were very difficult to turn.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madzinecz...
Pudsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cottage and loction!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013

The cottage is nicely decorated with everything you need for your stay, it was very warm and comfortable. On top of that beautiful views and ideal location for exploring the Lakes!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1939irise
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, daughter and her Partner and I stayed at Thurston View from the 3rd to 10th January 2014 and had a wonderful time. The cottage was warm, cosy, peaceful and the beds very comfortable and it was so well equipped. There was constant hot water and the gas fire in the lounge was particularly nice for the chilly evenings and gave a welcoming glow. The utility room was so handy although we never used the washing machine or tumble drier but it was great to have an extra toilet. The views from the property were magnificent. Everything worked perfectly and it was lovely to stand at the kitchen window to see so many beautiful birds in the garden feeding on the nuts that were left for them. One thing I would say is that the walk down to the village is a killer - I offered to go down as we were short of milk and the walk back up nearly killed me but then I am 74 and not particularly fi!!!. We had a wonderful week and would definitely return. Our grateful thanks to the onwer

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about it
Liked least: The walk down to the village!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carole034
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“in need of some tlc”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

this cottage is in a brilliant location overlooking coniston village with superb views over the water. The old man of coniston is just behind the cottage. It is in a row of old cottages on a bank above the village so there is a walk up a steep hill every time you go down to the village but the walk is worth it.
The cottage is a very good size with all the right appliances but lots of the things do not work properly ,are loose or generally in need of maintenance. The cooker is very poor and there are very few dishes, trays etc.There is plenty of cutlery and plates but no pint glasses and the sharp knives are blunt and chipped.
If the owners did maintenance on this property it would be a wonderful place as the decor is good.
Sadly because of the maintenance required we will not be visitng this cottage again, when we return to Coniston (which we will as it is a great location with plenty of walking on the doorstep) we will be seeking an alternative cottage to stay in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: poorly maintained property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing