We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very comfortable cottage in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Farmhouse

17th century, white washed, traditional lakeland farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
17th century, white washed, traditional lakeland farmhouse
Front of farmhouse Private access from cottage leading down to lake shore
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
19 reviews
17th century, white washed, traditional lakeland farmhouse
Front of farmhouse
Private access from cottage leading down to lake shore
Private beach (shared with two other cottages); perfect for boat launches, swims and picnics!
Master bedroom with wash basin, chest of drawers and wardrobe
Master bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom with chest of drawers
Lounge with wood burning stove and exposed oak beams
Lounge
Kitchen / diner
Kitchen / diner
New traditional Family Bathroom with roll top bath and overhead shower
Roll top bath with overhead thermostatic shower
Ground floor shower room with electric shower, WC and wash basin
Private footpath from cottage down to lake shore (shared with two other cottages)
Glimpse of lake from private footpath and grassy area suitable for outdoor play
View of lake looking north towards Coniston
Lake view showing Peel / 'Wildcat' island in distance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Coniston, Duddon Valley, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rose9632
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very comfortable cottage in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We (me, husband and 2 children (2 and 4)) stayed at The Farmhouse for the weekend. It is a lovely, well-equipped and comfortable cottage. The outside space at the back of the house is great although it is not in view of the house but the children loved exploring out there. It is in a great location for exploring Coniston but also Windermere is not far, we went to Bowness to visit the World of Beatrix Potter and it was only about half an hour. It was a lovely, relaxing weekend and we would love to stay again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigboy20
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely weekend here and thought the Farm House was in a fantastic location , hidden away just off the main road. . ... Close enough to Coniston and all that it has to offer . The cottage was very well equipped , beds really comfy , two bathrooms .. But we loved all the open oak beams , the fire and it's surround , making it a really cozy place to be . Shall definately return .

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
202Family
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Very easy to book, efficient and helpful at all times. The cottage exceeded our expectations - it was warm and cosy and full of character. My daughter said 'it's just perfect, I love it' The heating was very efficient and we hardly needed the log burner though it added to the cosiness. The cottage was dressed for Christmas so we felt very welcomed and at home. It was extremely clean and well equipped so we could just unpack and start enjoying being there.
The location was delightful and we enjoyed the peace and tranquility. Having lots of walks from the door meant we didn't need to use the car much which was a welcome break. We would love to return

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony19632...
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic place to get away from it all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Myself, my Wife, 15 year old Daughter and dog spent a long weekend in November in this beautiful old cottage. The weather for the weekend was cold but dry with some clear sunny spells, there was still some snow on top of the crags and frozen water going across the pathways at the higher levels. The cottage was easy to find and upon arrival we pulled up and couldn't wait to go in to see if the inside was as nice as the outside, it didn't dissapoint. A slight word of warning, coming off the road the driveway goes up slightly to the cottage and prior to our arrival there had been a lot of rain which when mixed with all the fallen leaves made for a slippy approach, with wheel spins a plenty. Soon mastered this though and there were no problems for the rest of the weekend. The cottage is surrounded by trees and is the middle of three, all joined together, during our stay the other two were vacant so not sure if there is a noise issue although I doubt it as the walls are so thick.The interior is just what you would expect of a seventeenth century cottage with big beams across the ceilings, creaky floorboards upstairs and old artifacts scattered around, beautiful. The kitchen is modern with all the usual appliances but with furniture to keep the feel of the place. Upstairs, both bedrooms are spacious with comfortable beds and clean bed linen. If you are arriving in the winter the first thing you will want to do is to switch on the heating as the cottage can get cold if it has not been occupied before you but it doesn't take long to warm up and it then remains lovely and cozy. There is a log burner in the living room which when ablaze just adds to the ambience of the cottage.Outside, the path winds its way down to the lake shore opening up to a grassed area that I would imagine in the summer would make for a lovely play area for children or a place to rest, eat or bbq etc. The cottage comes with its own private beach. At night, to say that it is dark outside is an understatement, yes I know that it's supposed to be dark at night but this is DARK, no street lighting anywhere, you may need a torch. That said, on a clear night the sky is amazing. With no light pollution you can see so many stars. There is no mobile phone signal at the cottage, don't worry my Daughter did survive this frightening experience, but there is a landline phone for emergencies. All of this added up to what we thought was an absolutely fantastic weekend. Would we recommend this cottage and its location? You bet we would. We hope to return some time in the future. Thank you Lucy.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The driveway on first arrival.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noori14
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“love to go again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay at this lovely cottage. This was my first experience in Cottages and the property is equipped with all essentials. I loved the log fire.
The location of cottage is excellent as it is at the bank of Conistion lake and not far from Scifel pike one of the best place in Lake District.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: cleanliness and kitchen is with full cutlery and crockery.
Liked least: one of shower at upstairs bathroom.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenglish...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Full of character, really homely, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, really comfortable, well equipped and full of character. Having the lake at the bottom of the garden an absolute bonus. Close enough to Torver and Coniston and beautiful walks from the doorstep, We all loved it and have already booked again for next year!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: comfortable, homely, great location, quiet, lakeside.
Liked least: nothing, liked it all
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$123
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing