We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A difficult one to review”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Some perhaps more critical reviewers might have only offered a score of 3 from a possible 5 due to a couple of "works in progress" but i feel that would perhaps be a tad unfair given the bigger picture.

As one of a small group of hotels, the Waterhead is perhaps judged and does not currently live up to the grandeur experienced at perhaps the company's hotel in Evesham.

However, there is a refurbishment taking place and this was evident in the fact that the style and quality of the main dining room where we enjoyed a good quality breakfast on two mornings and also one evening meal.

The room we stayed in was pleasant and seemingly had recently been upgraded in terms of both general decoration and also a newly appointed ensuite shower room.

The ongoing refurbishment is advised and examples of materials and decor shown within the main lobby area and it looks like the Waterhead will be soon deserving of the 4 or even 5 rating - although there are i feel a couple of (minor) matters that could do with some attention - i have contacted the company and, in order to be fair, will post further here upon receipt of an answer to my suggestions.

To us a short break is exactly that, we do not require a television, wi-fi or such just a reasonably comfortable bed and access to tea-making facilities, but as would be expected by the social-media committed masses these days, all such facilities were available.

Unlike some hotels in the area, there is ample parking, and a pleasant private garden with Lake access.

However, perhaps the main strength of the Waterhead currently are it's staff - all of whom were constantly well presented and well mannered at whatever the time of day or night, welcoming us very warmly despite the somewhat late arrival.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owsphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

We enjoyed two nights at the Waterhead in March this year and were lucky enough to have fabulous sunshine - perfect walking weather. This meant we didn't spend too much time in our room, which was the one thing that let the hotel down as it was rather old-fashioned and a little threadbare. However, the bed was comfortable, and the view from our window beautiful. The welcome from the lady on reception was excellent - she was very friendly throughout our stay, and breakfast was pleasant, particularly with the views to enjoy from the large picture windows. The hotel is in a great location for setting straight out for a walk, whether just a gentle stroll across the footpath across the fields by Coniston to the lovely Bluebird Cafe, or a walk up to Tarn Hows (we're not hardy enough to walk up the Old Man)! We stayed at the Waterhead on a voucher deal, so for what we paid it was great value and my rating reflects this - but I would have been disappointed with the hotel due to the quality of our room if we had paid full price. However, I would be happy to stay here again on another deal, especially once the rooms have all been re-furbished!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London0Ripponden4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My wife and I have just come back from celebrating our one year anniversary here. It was our second visit to Waterhead and both times have been excellent. This time we stayed in room 6 which has a fabulous four poster bed and view of the lake. The staff were very friendly with nothing being too much trouble.

The food was very tasty indeed, however the portion sizes are on the small side (especially at breakfast - the Salmon and scrambled egg was delicious but definitely on the stingy side).

The view from the restaurant is stunning and is a beautiful place to sit and eat. The surrounding area is fantastic and really gives this hotel a retreat type of feeling.

Highly recommended for couples looking for a romantic get away.

Room Tip: If you are looking for an extra nice room - ask for room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricky1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just returned from 2 night break. Hotel as already mentioned is undergoing refurbishment. We were lucky to have a refurbished room, room 5. Room lovely, views brilliant, staff friendly, food good but nothing special.
The atmosphere in the hotel was peaceful and relaxing. Just what we wanted. Very short walk into Coniston but take a torch as it is a dark path.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUDITH J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed at the Waterhead last weekend. This was our third visit - the location of the hotel is perfect with lawns that lead down to the lake.

They are in the process of some refurbishments in the entrance/dining room and it was a little cramped in the room that they are using for the evening dining. However, the food is delicious. We ate here on the first night - good value when compared to the pub prices in the village. Breakfast also very good and the staff are very friendly.

The bedrooms are definitely in need of a refurb but are comfortable with hairdryer, tea and coffee facilities.

We will definitely return as the location is ideal with an easy walk into the village and it's in an excellent location for many walks around the area. We love it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

hotel was big and comfortable, rooms huge and bathrooms complete with full bath and endless hot water - very nice! views over lake were good and very nice walk. pubs in town had great dinners. breakfast in hotel was very good!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller41188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel is located in a lovely spot on the edge of Coniston Water with lawns going down to the lake edge - must have been amazing in it's time - like quite a number of the hotels in this area it is clearly past it's best. They are doing the place up at the moment which is good to see but it would have been nice to have been told about this when booking.

Rooms could do with a face lift - go long on the sweepstake of when they are last decorated.

Food was fairly decent and staff were all really nice - hopefully the place can return to it's former glories once they refurbish the place.

Minor side note - booking is done through a central phone number, not the hotel itself - never like that.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.5 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#1 of 6 in Coniston
296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
5.5 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,736 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Hawkshead Old Road | Tarn Hows Road, Coniston LA21 8AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range: £63 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhead Hotel Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing