We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautifiul area”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“beautifiul area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Overall our stay at the Waterhead was ok....room ok...although booked for double, we were given a family room. Being on the top floor central heating was not sufficient enough, so a electric heater had been put in the room to use when necessary. Windows overview was good, but the windows themselves misted up between the panes. Staff were very attentive especially on reception, breakfast normal continental standard, toast, jams croissants. Being a avid porridge eater, it was on the menu...I asked if I could have a bowl, but no not allowed unless I wanted to pay £11.95 for it!! These English hotels fall way behind the standard of hotels abroad, where they are only to happy to oblige and bend the odd rules!!
Coniston town itself is lovely and only a 10 minute walk, where there a some lovely pubs, with very good priced meals. Will go back to area definately, probably stay elsewhere though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    263
    93
    36
    14
See reviews for
86
411
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

spent two days at the Waterhead. Wonderful location. The room was great and was particularly impressed with the staff. We only breakfast there but the girls working the breakfast shift were very professional and friendly. would like to return if in the area as is a good base for taking in the beautiful scenery the lakes has to offer

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a two night stay here and really enjoyed it. We stayed in room 6 which has a very comfortable, massive, four poster bed. The views from both windows were stunning. breakfast both mornings were very filling and very tasty. We had an evening meal on our first night and even though it was lovely we did find £15 just for a main course slightly on the expensive side. The bar area is nice and relaxing, we sat in there for a few hours having a drink and playing cards. All staff were very friendly and our room was always made up to a high standard.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chadwicks6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We were given a voucher as a gift for Christmas and were looking forward to a 2 night stay at the hotel.After a good journey up the M6 we arrived at the hotel and had an easy check in by a very pleasant receptionist.Our room was on the second floor and the room was very pleasant but a little on the chilly side and we couldn't get hot water in the bathroom it was tepid.Reception said they would boost heating but we then had an electric fan heater on.The next day they must have done something as the room was much warmer.Breakfast was fine choice of cereals,fruit,full English or more or less what you wanted and pleasant members of staff all very efficient.The dining room had been refurbished and was very nice but some areas are still in need of a refurb.I have to say that we both slept well the bed was comfortable so that was fine.Wi fi didn't seem to reach our room and in this day and age that was a little annoying.Although we had a lovely weekend I don't think this hotel would be our first choice if we came to this area again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JackieP929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
441 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have stayed at this wonderful hotel several times over the past few years, mainly out of season on the 2 x nights B&B for £99 offer. From the very first visit (a couple of years ago) we were hooked and will take up any offers presented to us over the next few years. Ideally located on the water's edge, with lovely gardens. The rooms are mainly huge. Beds are huge. Slept for almost 12 hours!! Staff are outstanding and you really are made to feel extremely welcome. Have partaken of dinner on a couple of occasions and the catering is quite superb. Breakfast selection is wonderful and among the best I have eaten, anywhere. About 10mins walk into the centre of Coniston. Dog-friendly (for an additional charge). Was full this weekend, which shows how many are taking up these superb offers, Great point to start for many walks in the area. Wonderful place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights,bed and breakfast.The hotel is well managed,and the staff were very helpful.The breakfast was cooked perfect.The room had a lake view and a very big bed,very quite,the down side with the room was,no fridge,no control over the heating,no ironing board, and the stations on the television were limited.The hotel was dog friendly,but as I am not a lover of dogs I found the 10 minute walk to the village which was unlit and covered in dog muck.I would stay in the hotel again but not visit the pubs in Connison the reason being is they all let dogs in.We were having our dinner and I counted 9 dogs, and their owners were in and out with their dogs most unplesant

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MattyMower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
5.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
0.5 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#2 of 6 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
6.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Hawkshead Old Road | Tarn Hows Road, Coniston LA21 8AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhead Hotel Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing