We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely surprise”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We booked three nights, arrived early but our room was ready. Although we had a room at the back, a side window gave a pleasant view. The room was very spacious and the bathroom very large. Cooked Breakfast was ok not quite to my taste but nothing really wrong with it. Plenty of cereal, fruit and three flavours of porridge which I would have next time. Very good value for money as we booked on laterooms. Village a few minutes down the road. Some nice places to eat. Well worth a stay. Will stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tereasa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

We aquired the room from laterooms.com at a budget price and didnt expect much, we were very wrong, and when we arrived at such a beautiful location and got a lovely room with fantastic views we were extremely happy.Exellent breakfast choices, helpful, friendly staff,Coniston village just a five minute walk away. However if i was to be picky, the bar,, very very expensive we bought two drinks costing us £8.50, we decided the village would be a better option the next night, but apart from bar prices would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: some rooms have a bath and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine_b346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Overall our stay at the Waterhead was ok....room ok...although booked for double, we were given a family room. Being on the top floor central heating was not sufficient enough, so a electric heater had been put in the room to use when necessary. Windows overview was good, but the windows themselves misted up between the panes. Staff were very attentive especially on reception, breakfast normal continental standard, toast, jams croissants. Being a avid porridge eater, it was on the menu...I asked if I could have a bowl, but no not allowed unless I wanted to pay £11.95 for it!! These English hotels fall way behind the standard of hotels abroad, where they are only to happy to oblige and bend the odd rules!!
Coniston town itself is lovely and only a 10 minute walk, where there a some lovely pubs, with very good priced meals. Will go back to area definately, probably stay elsewhere though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 332LauraB332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

spent two days at the Waterhead. Wonderful location. The room was great and was particularly impressed with the staff. We only breakfast there but the girls working the breakfast shift were very professional and friendly. would like to return if in the area as is a good base for taking in the beautiful scenery the lakes has to offer

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Preston
3
Reviewed 16 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a two night stay here and really enjoyed it. We stayed in room 6 which has a very comfortable, massive, four poster bed. The views from both windows were stunning. breakfast both mornings were very filling and very tasty. We had an evening meal on our first night and even though it was lovely we did find £15 just for a main course slightly on the expensive side. The bar area is nice and relaxing, we sat in there for a few hours having a drink and playing cards. All staff were very friendly and our room was always made up to a high standard.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank chadwicks6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were given a voucher as a gift for Christmas and were looking forward to a 2 night stay at the hotel.After a good journey up the M6 we arrived at the hotel and had an easy check in by a very pleasant receptionist.Our room was on the second floor and the room was very pleasant but a little on the chilly side and we couldn't get hot water in the bathroom it was tepid.Reception said they would boost heating but we then had an electric fan heater on.The next day they must have done something as the room was much warmer.Breakfast was fine choice of cereals,fruit,full English or more or less what you wanted and pleasant members of staff all very efficient.The dining room had been refurbished and was very nice but some areas are still in need of a refurb.I have to say that we both slept well the bed was comfortable so that was fine.Wi fi didn't seem to reach our room and in this day and age that was a little annoying.Although we had a lovely weekend I don't think this hotel would be our first choice if we came to this area again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JackieP929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
5.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,766 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#1 of 6 in Coniston
303 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
5.4 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Hawkshead Old Road | Tarn Hows Road, Coniston LA21 8AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range: £69 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhead Hotel Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing