We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel and great food!”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel and great food!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for just 2 nights on a short break deal and had a wonderful time. This hotel is just 5 - 10 minutes walk from Coniston village with its pubs (recommend the Black Bull for food) and cafes. The hotel has been undergoing somewhat of a makeover/ modernisation in the recent past, as testified by the dining room, front patio and en-suite bathrooms, so don't be put off by the tired look of the first and second floor landings.
The hotel is in a lovely spot, with picturesque views. The breakfast and evening meal are both very tasty and very well presented, with helpful and pleasant staff waiting on. The room was clean, well decorated and with tea making facilities and everything else you would expect to find. Ample car parking available. The only thing I would say is, if you have booked on a voucher, be careful of hidden extras. A room with a lake view will cost extra, as will a stay on Friday and Saturday night. They also tried to limit us to a continental breakfast until we pointed out that this was not mentioned in our confirmation. Not sure, however, how they would have served a continental breakfast, as there was very little evidence on the breakfast buffet of anything resembling the cold meats, cheeses and pastries you are offered in a contemporary continental hotel! The receptionist was professional, friendly and patient at all times in dealing with our queries and she is to be congratulated on the quality of her welcome on behalf of the hotel group.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2509Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    267
    98
    38
    15
See reviews for
88
420
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were given a red letter day and stayed for just one night. We paid extra for a four poster room with a distant view of the lake. The room and bed were comfortable with all the facilities you would expect, clean and tidy with a nice bathroom. The breakfast was excellent and service good. It was a pleasant, safe walk into the village. This is an old building but well maintained. We enjoyed our stay but would not like to have paid the full price.

Room Tip: The lake view with four poster is probably worth the extra 30 pounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have been taken by friends today using a Red Letter gift voucher for afternoon tea ,on arrival we were kept waiting a long time due to a member of staff who was trying to book people in , taking care of customers tea and drink requirments,also trying to answer the telephone , certainly too much for one person to deal with on a bank holiday .
The immediate impression was how tired and unwelcoming the hotel looked but the staff member was very accomadating . We were shown to the lounge for our teas but as the tables were not set for tea and the chairs were very low and leather seats torn we asked if we could use the dining room which was very pleasant
Tea was very ordinary only scones and a couple of sponge cakes and a few sandwiches perhaps the chef could have a lesson with Mary Berry
Certainly won't go back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 401Mazza123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Waterhead Hotel we found to be a nice comfortable hotel nice clean rooms with good breakfasts.We got a good deal on a mid-week break.The only downside was it was a short walk into Coniston Village itself and you need good walking boots if its wet,needless to say on a fine day its a lovely little stroll !

Room Tip: Rooms were in the process of refurbishment !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank standawson52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We arrived to have our afternoon tea, so also decided to stay the night while we were there. The rooms were not great. Bed was to hard, Curtains handing off, Bathroom with only a show, and very small, even though, clean.
We went for our afternoon tea, but wasn't up to the standard we would have liked.the atmosphere wasn't good, there was an old mam in the room where we were having afternoon tea, snoring his head off. The staff could have offered to move us, to make the experience a lot more enjoyable for us.
unfortunately we ended not being able to stay the night, I'm kind of glad we didn't.
The reception lady was pleasant, but could have been better, and Uniform wouldn't go a miss.
won't be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here 23 years ago and this was supposed to be a real treat for us. We arrived and the lady on the front desk was talking to someone in the bar. Took about 2 - 3 minutes to acknowledge us. We were in room 22 on the second floor. There is a lift to the first floor only which isn't normally a problem, but the corridor was quite narrow for the bags. Our room overlooked the road. The hotel was not full so I am surprised we weren't given a room with a better view. The bathroom was minuscule, and only had a shower. I'd have liked a bath. The basin is a TINY hand wash basin so washing your face in it was a challenge. The bed was comfortable, but the decor is drab. The headboard was 2 singles pushed together and they didn't match up in height. Little detail, but it makes a difference. The lampshades didn't fit properly and wobbled and the back of the wardrobe was loose (maintenance could easily put a few nails in and fix it). The pillows were a bit odd as they were quite high. One was not enough but 2 were too high. And one pillowcase was on inside out. Room was clean though. We decided not to eat our evening meal there, but when we returned at 9 and tried to watch TV it kept switching itself off. There was no wifi either so we spoke to the lady at the front desk who brought a new tv for us. She offers to move us, but as we were ready for bed it wasn't an option. I have to again ask, if there were better rooms, why give us that one? And the TV is really a small 21" making it hard to watch from the bed. (Only one chair so bed was the only place for at least one of us). Breakfast was very good. The fruit and cold selection is small, but the cooked breakfast was hot, fresh and very good. Staff in the dining room were excellent. We enjoyed a walk to the water and around the garden. It's a beautiful spot. The lady on the front desk gave us a discount, but I'd much rather have paid full price and had a lovely stay. I sadly can't recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Duchessvdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel will always be a special spot in our life, because this is the place where my fiance proposed me in November 2013, on my birthday.
It's really a romantic, relaxing place. Our room was very comfy, bathroom was huge and very nice! Staff was friendly and helpfull, room was clean, the view was lovely! I think this is a perfect place for a little chill out time.
Coniston is a gem on the Lakes with really friendly people. I loved the long walks, we tried a few restaurants and all of them were fab!
I would totally recommend to visit Coniston and stay in Waterhead Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antapfenomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.5 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#2 of 6 in Coniston
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
5.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.5 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Hawkshead Old Road | Tarn Hows Road, Coniston LA21 8AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhead Hotel Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing