We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very good and in a the beautiful village of Coniston which is only a 2 minute walk away so a perfect location. Also the lovely towns of Ambleside and Windermere. However the one thing that let's down this hotel is the food. It was awful, so have to mark down this hotel on this basis :(

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Abigail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    271
    101
    38
    19
See reviews for
89
431
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My Mom and I recently embarked upon a self-guided week-long inn to inn hiking tour throughout the Lake District and while each of the inns we came upon were lovely, the Waterhead Hotel will hold a special place in our hearts and memories. From the hotel's picture-perfect location beside the lake and its beautiful expanse of gardens where we sat and enjoyed glasses of wine and appetizers before dinner to the sparkling clean rooms and incredibly comfortable beds, we were in Heaven at the Waterhead Hotel and highly recommend it to anyone coming through the area. The proprietors could not have been more helpful - we were sad to bid it adieu!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife, daughter and I stayed here in July as we were attending a wedding in The Copper Mines. The hotel is in a beautiful location, and very near Coniston.The hotel gardens go down to the lake and there is a bench to sit on overlooking a pier.Sit there in perfect peace! Our (family) room was nice, clean and spacious. The view from the window was of scenic mountains. The breakfast was lovely too. Nice, polite helpful staff also made our stay a memorable one. We would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davemactravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateshead
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here as part of a red letter deal. We had one night with dinner, we were greeted by a lovely lady at reception and shown to our beautiful room facing green fields and mountains. Only a 5 min walk to the beautiful village with pubs. Dinner was amazing, we were sat in the dining room with a view of the mountains and the food was to die for! The staff were all very friendly and very efficient and there was plenty of them. Breakfast in the morning was just as good. Self service to continental and fruit and juice and then a full English (or can have other things too) was served and tea and coffee also.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Based a short (10min) walk from Coniston and set in beautiful gardens on the edge of the lake - a perfect location. We visited last weekend and really enjoyed the setting and the excellent service from management and staff who go out of their way to make you welcome and your stay enjoyable.

It does seem that there are different shapes and sizes of rooms with some being recently renovated and others not. The junior suite we stayed in had a separate sitting room, was very comfortable with lovely decor. If all rooms were like this the hotel would probably get more generous ratings from all visitors.

Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of continental and a la carte menu (literally choose what cooked breakfast items you would like each day) served in the relaxing newly renovated restaurant with perfect views looking up at The Old Man of Coniston..

Room Tip: Try to get a renovated room or upgrade to a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supershopper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Spent a couple of nights here on way back from Scotland; so lucky with weather and as a regular customer of Classic hotels it compares favourably with other hotels in the Group. Great location on edge of Coniston Water and short walk to delightful village. All staff very helpful and friendly, particularly dining room staff and food was delicious. Rooms were large and comfortable; we stayed in ground floor room suitable for disabled guests, although not disabled ourselves we found it a little musty and perhaps would have preferred a room on first floor with better views. However we had a very enjoyable couple of days with lots to do in and around Coniston.

Room Tip: Upstair rooms would have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A wonderful hotel with staff that are prepared to go the extra mile, a particular big thank you to Joyce who found and returned my sons mobile. The room servicing staff always ensured we always had fresh towels tea & coffee. All the dining room staff made sure all the wedding guests were well looked after. I would highly recommend this hotel for any function or just a relaxing weekend break, such a beautiful location.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2014sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.5 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
5.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,688 reviews
6.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,392 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.5 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Hawkshead Old Road | Tarn Hows Road, Coniston LA21 8AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhead Hotel Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing