We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful views, perfect location & stylish...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Miner's Cottage

A sunny start in Coniston
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A sunny start in Coniston
A garden with a view....enjoy the sunset with a glass of wine Roomy lounge, but cosy and warm with a log burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
A sunny start in Coniston
A garden with a view....enjoy the sunset with a glass of wine
Roomy lounge, but cosy and warm with a log burner
Dining Kitchen
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Large Kingsize Bedroom, with comfy memory foam mattress
Comfy Twin Bedroom
Family Sized Bathroom.
Large downstairs WC
Utility room for washing & drying, and handy for kicking off those walking boots
The quiet and relaxing Terrace Garden, looking bak at the cottage.
Wintery View of Coniston and the Old Man: Jan 2015
A cool November day on Coniston Water
Our stunning Views
Views of the Village from the Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Discover6...
1 review
“beautiful views, perfect location & stylish accommodation. Amazing!”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The house was beautiful, very tastefully restored retaining the character you would expect from a period property. It was spotlessly clean and the views from the front windows were outstanding.
I can't recommend this little cottage enough, the rooms were all good sizes and the owners have thought about everything that visitors might need to know from places to eat & drink to exploring the amazing landscape.
We will be booking miners cottage again very soon for our return visit.
David , Lucy & Albert.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2017
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for your lovely comments. We're really pleased you had a great time in Coniston and enjoyed your stay. All the very best, Mandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with amazing views”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Had a lovely weeks stay at Miners cottage. It was clean and warm and had everything we needed. The views of Coniston and the lake were amazing and we spent lots of time looking from the window seats in the bedroom and living room. The children loved the binoculars and games. We had good walks up Old Man and in Grizedale forest. We canoed on Lake Coniston which was lovely and also had a trip on the steam gondola. The fish and chip shop in the village was good. The wood burning stove in the cottage was great and made it very cosy. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the property
Liked least: There was a parking space allocated which was not easy to get into
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimlor
Southampton
2 reviews
“Excellent base for a walking holiday”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Miner's Cottage is very well equipped, comfortable and ideally located for a walking holiday around the Coniston area. The views from the cottage are stunning and look straight across to Coniston Water and the fells beyond.

Although parking is a little difficult it is quite unusual to have parking for 2 cars although you will need to juggle the loading times within the narrow single-track road.

Coniston itself is only a 3 minute walk away and is blessed with good foodie pubs.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LadFromHu...
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We loved it so much we have stayed twice.”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in July 2013

This a wonderful cottage to stay in located in a beautiful part of the lakes. The cottage had been renovated by the current owners and the first time we stayed we were lucky enough to be the first visitors! We loved it so much we returned the following winter.

The cottage has everything you need for a family of four (four adults on both these occasions) to stay comfortably. From a washer/dryer to a nice log fire to everything you need in the kitchen. The bedrooms are of a good size and a modern bathroom with a nice bath to soak tired legs. The views over Coniston are fantastic and the cottage is only a few minutes walk from the local pubs and village centre.

We have only not returned for a third time due to the very steep hill that is needed to be walked to access the cottage on foot due to some family health issues. This would not be a problem for reasonably fit & healthy people (dare I say ‘normal’ standard health) but needs to be a consideration for certain people. Would not recommend for the infirm, wheelchair bound or anyone who would struggle to walk up 5 or 6 flights of stairs and hope to not use a car to get to/from the cottage. For everyone else its just a beautiful get away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped and fantastic location
Liked least: Parking was akward for 2 cars.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Trish M
1 review
“Simply the best.”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Miners cottage more than lived up to expectations,photographs really do not do it justice.
Very clean, tasteful decor ... with everything needed for a comfortable, homely stay. The views from the living room window are to die for and the neighbours are very friendly.
I strongly recommend getting up very early in the morning to catch daylight breaking .....breathtaking views.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to visit Coniston.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very homely cottage, the lake and everything about Coniston!
Liked least: No secure outside space for dogs (butnot a problem)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas095
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in a perfect location.”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a flawless week staying in Miners Cottage. It was everything we could have asked for! Cosy, clean, well equipped and in a great location.

When we arrived, everything was spotless. The kitchen was well equipped, and the added extras such as the docking station and washing machine were very useful. The wifi was great, especially for planning our day and keeping in touch with home. Nice to have a good TV and DVD player, we enjoyed relaxing watching Breaking Bad in front of the roaring log fire! We bought logs from the neighbour down the street. Reasonable and lasted all week.

The parking and street were tight, but we have a Land Rover and managed fine! The designated parking space easily fitted two cars. The front garden was lovely. Very well kept and nice to have a big table and chairs. Wonderful views too, which were lovely to wake up to. The back garden/area was good too, enough space for the dog to go out in the morning. Nice to see the birds feeding, and also enough room for a disposable BBQ!

The cottage is in a great location. Just a ten minute walk into the centre of Coniston town / the Coniston Lake & Bluebird Cafe and lots of lovely walks! Also a short drive to Hawkshead/Grizedale etc. BP with Spar off licence & chip shop nearby which are very handy.

Would absolutely recommend this cottage. Really perfect! So pleased with it and had a great week, thanks :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: Brace yourself for the steep hill leading up! Not a problem at all, but it is a quite a hilll!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing