We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bull Inn and Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

What a lovely setting this pub has cant fault any part of a great weekend away thanx sue.im sure ill be back with friends.the food not cheap but same price in all the local eateries.we stayed in a room just next to the pub in a conversion with a little courtyard with stunning views

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    160
    48
    22
    17
See reviews for
76
198
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woking, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We were recommended this pub by our Hotel and visited it a couple of times during our long weekend stay in Coniston.

The beer, brewed on the premises, was second to none. The barman spent a long time talking about the different ales and helped me choose a large selection to take home.

The staff were friendly, even serving food before the official lunch time.

If you go to Coniston then this is a must visit pub!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hepcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We have visited this pub several times over the years with extended family . Whilst we have never been overwhelmed by the service or welcome, it has always been ok.
We stayed in Coniston for a weekend in July 2012 and called into the Black Bull on a Saturday early afternoon for a couple of drinks after a walk and before the hike up to the Coppermines.
Our group consisted of 4 adults and 2 children - straight away we were made to feel as though the children weren't particularly welcome. My husband went to the bar first and was ignored initially even though it wasn't overly busy. The bartender was unhelpful when asked about the local beers (supposedly their speciality and selling point). Nonethless we carried on and had our drinks. When we went up to the bar for a second round the different member of staff who served us was downright rude and disinterested. We had been considering ordering food, but our experience meant that we left most of our second drink, never to return. Next time we'll stick to The Sun.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally2464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Well what can I say Room clean and tidy, Nice size I see other people complaining about ceilings and floors being low and not level, it is an old building and not the Ritz. Being a travelling salesman I have stayed in better, with no character boaring staff and plain food. Here you get normal well prepared fresh food not all spiced up and sauces everywhere, I can recommend the Haddock, Gammon and cumberland sausage the portions are huge. Over the years we have got to know Spencer the head chef and he takes no prisoners, all the food is freshly prepared and cooked, so when they are busy it tends to take a while, given you more time to sample the selection of real ales all brewed on the premises. The bar Staff Mark, Merick, Lorraine and Michelle and Les the manager are great and the banter that goes on would make a good comedy show, don't get me wrong they are professional but enjoy themselves while working, something you do not see a lot of these days.
We have been going to Coniston twice a year for 7 years and always end up at The Black Bull after tyring all the other pubs The prices are just Lake District prices not Expensive no different to anywhere else in the lakes. The pub is ideal for walking cycling or just touring around.

In conclusion if you want the Ritz and fancy messed about with food, well go to the Ritz.

If you want a good old Pub/Hotel with good food and great beer then in my opinion the Black Bull is the place to go, we will be back in March, I think the staff should all have a pay rise as the place would not be the same without them.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

A long-established family-run business in the heart of The Lakes, quality of service and product is second to none; the range of excellent home-brewed beers is comprehensive, from the beautiful smooth oatmeal stout, the Bluebird bitters and the two lagers, and the potentially dangerous 9% barley wine (recent winner of the 'Beer of Britain' award), the range caters to all tastes. The friendly, welcoming staff add to the ambience of the place, the food is excellent, a must-visit location if you're doing Cumbria !

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longridge, Lancashire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

When we are away in the motorhome we eat out quite regularly. Consequently we cannot afford top of the range eating every time. Sometimes it is nice to be able to have a glass of decent beer and a plate of no nonsense comfort food. Having perused the menu at another hostelry nearby we decided that such offerings were far too expensive so we settled on the Black Bull.

This is a real ale paradise with most of the beer made on site. This is not a pub for lager drinkers unless you enjoy the real scandinavian/germanic experience. I am a real ale fan but strangely Coniston Brewery beers have never quite hit the spot with me. I do not know why this is as they are clearly of high quality. Well I seem to have found the answer, I tried the Special Oatmeal Stout and it was wonderful.

My wife and I both had the Cumberland Sausage which was very satisfying and filling and for less than a tenner good value.

The only problem with this pub is that on busy days, and there are many of these in this attractive little town, this place very quickly fills up, particularly around evening meal time. If you can be more flexible it might be advantageous as they do serve food all day. As for drinking no problem just stand and work your way though the range on offer, although you will only be able to drink the barley wine in small glasses!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffreyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Fantastic location with the bonus of a brewery on site. Coniston Brewery makes a great pint and has won camra champion beer of Britain twice. Food good and breakfast is very good. Plenty to eat and attentive landlady and staff. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#3 of 6 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
4.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bull Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull Inn and Hotel

Property: Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Address: Coppermines Road | Yewdale Road, Coniston LA21 8HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bull Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Black Bull Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bull Hotel Coniston
Black Bull Coniston
Black Bull Inn And Hotel Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing