We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Five Star Service”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Visited for the first time on a last minute booking and will definitely be returning. The room was spotless and well appointed. The power shower was the best we have ever used and was very welcome after our walk on Sunday. The food was excellent, the best risotto I have ever tasted and we couldn't have asked for better service, nothing was too much trouble even when we brought our table reservation forward one hour. All staff were very courteous and attentive. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAandYJONES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    166
    49
    24
    18
See reviews for
84
205
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We have eaten and drunk at this Hotel on six occasions now and we are returning in June for more of the same. Can,t wait and neither can the dog!!! Although we have not stayed in the Hotel proper, if it is anything like our experience in the "Pub", it must be super. The staff are so polite it shows up other establishment in the town. Well done.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We have stayed here a few times and just seem to keep going back!!! We have always found the food and ale very good and always consistent.
The Breakfast is to die for and the fish and chips are probably the best we have tasted.
The rooms are spotless and very very comfortable and we are big fans of the power shower.
We stay in the forge bridge house which is ideal as we have 2 dogs who where very warmly welcomed.
All the staff and management at the Black bull are very helpful and welcoming and treat us like old friends which is why we just keep going back 10/10.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We re-booked this weekend after the Coniston 14 was postponed on March owing to the horrendous blizzards! We found the hotel very pleasant and welcoming. Our room was in the annexe and was small but extremely comfortable and well appointed. There were 6 easily accessible electric points, 2 of which were next to the dressing table and a mirror which made it much easier to use a hair dryer. There was also a full length mirror. The bathroom was clean, with a very good shower and good quality towels. The bed was very comfortable.
We used the hotel bar service for our evening meals and I was impressed at the swift service - even though the hotel was packed on both nights. Food very good on both nights.The breakfast was lovely and once again the service was pretty quick. To improve it for me I would like to see yogurt and more fruit, my partner would have liked to have baked beans with his 'full English' - but hey that's being picky!
It's a real ale pub and the beer is well kept if pricey - between £ 7 & £8 for a typical round of a pint and a glass of house wine. However, not unusual for the Lake district. This was our first visit and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We came here following a bad experience at the Sun Inn last week. Staff were lovely and the food was very good. We all ordered different meals and everyone was pleased. A lovely, frienldy pub. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Well for a ardent real ale fan where else could I go in Conniston the best pint of "bluebird" I have ever had, and here there are at least 2 versions of it an XB is also available. i wa travelling around by bus so only had time for drink but what a drink.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is an atmosperic pub as soon as you walk through the door the place seems to hits you with its unique character it has a low black beamed ceiling and open fireplace. The food is exellent I've had many meals there. The beers are brewed on site and are second to none. There are two beer garden areas to the front and side.The only problem with the place is that at 11O'clock they call time .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.0 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#2 of 6 in Coniston
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
653 reviews
4.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.3 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
960 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monk Coniston
Monk Coniston
#4 of 6 in Coniston
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bull Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull Inn and Hotel

Property: Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Address: Coppermines Road | Yewdale Road, Coniston LA21 8HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bull Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Black Bull Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bull Hotel Coniston
Black Bull Coniston
Black Bull Inn And Hotel Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing