We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

11 of us arrived giving 5 minutes notice after walking out of a venue up the road! The table was waiting, candles lit and we all had a delicious meal with great service! Thank you for making our night after a disastrous start up the road!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank MidlandsKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for Black Bull Inn and Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights recently. We were welcomed by the friendly staff and shown to our rooms which were spotless and comfortable with a huge bathroom and lovely shower! We ate in the restaurant on both evenings and enjoyed out meals. The breakfasts were tasty and the staff were lovely and very efficient. I booked the hotel because it is dog friendly and it really was - my dog enjoyed her sausage each morning at breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxyroo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

i stayed across the road and ate here twice and drank here a few times more than that. The ale is locally brewed and very good. The food is pretty decent compared to other places around the Lakes. All the usual suspects sausages, fish and chips, steaks and pies but done quite nicely. I had very well battered fish and chips both nights after two long exhausting walks. The staff were friendly, especially given the number of tourists they must get coming through, and the general ambiance was warm and pleasant

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank biffchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Second visit this year so can't be too bad.Average standard pub grub,reasonable selection of craft beers.The pubs a bit dark and dingy and the staff think you won't be going back so treat everybody as tourists.This isn't always the case!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank netvigator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is a lovely pub in a wonderful setting.It was lovely to walk into after a walk on the fells with the open fires.The food looked and smelt very nice but the biggest negative was the price of drinks,4.20 for a pint of cider.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank telsa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

THis is a splendid rather old fashioned pub / hotel. The bar is full of locally brewed ales ... which in my view were delicous. The food was plentiful and old fashioned. The breakfast was served with a smile , and the Local staff in the evening could not have been more helpful.

It is clean and tidy but possibly certain areas could do with a bit of sprucing up. However if you are a wlaker in the Lakes this is just the ticket. Good non greasy breakfast. The service was also quite quick and efficient.

It is situated in the middle of the town and a perfect spot from where to climb the Old Man.

It is not a smart hotel ... but old fashioned ... with traditional fare. If that is what you want I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommydickydougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The nicest thing about the Black Bull is that you meet the same staff each time you visit. They really are great efficient friendly and always there to help. This was our third visit and it was like we had never been away. Clean comfortable room, good food and excellent beer what more could you want. Many thanks to all the staff for a great two days.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brucie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#3 of 6 in Coniston
674 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#1 of 6 in Coniston
289 reviews
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
698 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
7.0 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bull Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull Inn and Hotel

Address: Coppermines Road | Yewdale Road, Coniston LA21 8HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range: £113 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bull Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Black Bull Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bull Hotel Coniston
Black Bull Coniston
Black Bull Inn And Hotel Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing