We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Lake District” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bull Inn and Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Decent Lake District”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Have been here numerous times over the years - never any issues with the food or drink - and all welcome including children and muddy dogs (not to mention muddy walkers). Coniston is great as it's that bit off the beaten track so never too busy - even during holiday periods.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    160
    49
    22
    17
See reviews for
76
199
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

11 of us arrived giving 5 minutes notice after walking out of a venue up the road! The table was waiting, candles lit and we all had a delicious meal with great service! Thank you for making our night after a disastrous start up the road!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights recently. We were welcomed by the friendly staff and shown to our rooms which were spotless and comfortable with a huge bathroom and lovely shower! We ate in the restaurant on both evenings and enjoyed out meals. The breakfasts were tasty and the staff were lovely and very efficient. I booked the hotel because it is dog friendly and it really was - my dog enjoyed her sausage each morning at breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxyroo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

i stayed across the road and ate here twice and drank here a few times more than that. The ale is locally brewed and very good. The food is pretty decent compared to other places around the Lakes. All the usual suspects sausages, fish and chips, steaks and pies but done quite nicely. I had very well battered fish and chips both nights after two long exhausting walks. The staff were friendly, especially given the number of tourists they must get coming through, and the general ambiance was warm and pleasant

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biffchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Second visit this year so can't be too bad.Average standard pub grub,reasonable selection of craft beers.The pubs a bit dark and dingy and the staff think you won't be going back so treat everybody as tourists.This isn't always the case!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank netvigator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is a lovely pub in a wonderful setting.It was lovely to walk into after a walk on the fells with the open fires.The food looked and smelt very nice but the biggest negative was the price of drinks,4.20 for a pint of cider.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telsa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Zeal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

THis is a splendid rather old fashioned pub / hotel. The bar is full of locally brewed ales ... which in my view were delicous. The food was plentiful and old fashioned. The breakfast was served with a smile , and the Local staff in the evening could not have been more helpful.

It is clean and tidy but possibly certain areas could do with a bit of sprucing up. However if you are a wlaker in the Lakes this is just the ticket. Good non greasy breakfast. The service was also quite quick and efficient.

It is situated in the middle of the town and a perfect spot from where to climb the Old Man.

It is not a smart hotel ... but old fashioned ... with traditional fare. If that is what you want I would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tommydickydougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#3 of 6 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
4.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.0 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bull Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull Inn and Hotel

Property: Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Address: Coppermines Road | Yewdale Road, Coniston LA21 8HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bull Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Black Bull Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bull Hotel Coniston
Black Bull Coniston
Black Bull Inn And Hotel Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing