We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Brotton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
438 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 489 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous pub grub just what we needed after a walk around Coniston, I had scampi, my parner had the special lamb and mint steamed suet pudding.......(wish I had chose the same it looked lovely) couple of drinks to wash it down, very adequate, would go back

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Warhol40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    165
    49
    24
    18
See reviews for
84
203
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We called in for lunch on a Saturday in January. Fish and chips, chilli and a couple of drinks each cost us £33. Food was ok, average at best. We both felt it was overpriced for what it was, and that the pub trades on location and name. Service was functional.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands U.K
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Black Bull Inn from 30th December 2013 to 1st January 2014 for New Year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We visited with our Dog and were given a room in the annex which was perfect for us with the Dog. The room was beautifully decorated and immaculately clean, you would never know this was a Dog friendly room! The room was small but contains everything you need, large wardrobe and plenty of space for your luggage and walking boots etc. The shower was great; really powerful and nice and hot, which is just what you want after a long day in the cold! Breakfast was lovely and they even bought a sausage out for our Dog which was a really nice touch. We were made to feel extremely welcome by the staff and spent both evenings in the pub itself. We ate here on both evenings too and were served quickly considering the place was absolutely packed. The food was really tasty and presented beautifully. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: If you are bringing a Dog ask for a room in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have visited the black bull many times, coniston bluebird being one of my partners favourite beers, and what better place to enjoy a pint with a delicious homecooked meal. On this occasion we stayed overnight in what was a lovely, well appointed, clean and comfortable room. We bought my mother up to celebrate her birthday as coniston is one of her favourite spots in the lakes, and it did not disappoint. A warm welcome, and an even warmer farewell, with an unexpected gift for my mum. Really really lovely. Thank you. Oh and the breakfast was delicious. X

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyloulou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Been in Coniston to see our friends, and decided to go for a drink. We chose Black Bull because our friend's dog Bernie is getting served draught beer in a plastic container. We travelled all day so my wife decided to have a meal (vegetarian enchiladas) which came out really quickly looked good and tasted good. We had a good couple of hours, nice atmosphere, polite staff and the prices were reasonable. We will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEX G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Pub visit only: After a short walk on the fells, we drove down into Coniston for lunch at The Black Bull. We were made very welcome and the drinks and food were excellent. The food was very well presented as well as being sufficient to cater for our healthy appetites. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwp_1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries & Galloway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just returned home from a 3 night stay at the Black Bull with friends. It is a rare thing to just feel at home and made to feel so welcome and all the staff here did just that. Great beer, the bluebird bitter and Xb is just great, the food was lovely and rooms good. Breakfast was fabulous and set you up for walking the fells! Nothing was to much trouble. Many thanks to Sue, Mark and everyone. Just a fabulous weeked

Room Tip: Four poster bed room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigsalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.0 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#2 of 6 in Coniston
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
652 reviews
4.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
958 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bull Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull Inn and Hotel

Property: Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Address: Coppermines Road | Yewdale Road, Coniston LA21 8HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bull Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Black Bull Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bull Hotel Coniston
Black Bull Coniston
Black Bull Inn And Hotel Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing