We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & beer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed in Coniston 2 nights, and ate at the Black Bull both nights, as it was so close to our B&B. The food was very good, home made pies, chilli etc - you need to go in and read the specials board, as the menu outside is just standard fayre. The pub is also a micro brewery, so has plenty of choice, we attempted as many as we could in the 2 nights, think we did 7 or 8...... Didn't manage a pud as we were too full.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTFNUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
There are newer reviews for Black Bull Inn and Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay with your dog, they are very dog friendly, nice food, quiet and very clean, no shower though but a nice bath which is nice after a long mountain trek. Would stay again recommended. Relaxing and the dog gets a sausage for breakfast also, which is a nice touch, they have a nice restaurant attached too although I ate in the bar as dogs are not allowed in the restaurant but everywhere else.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Bull's fish chips and peas used to be legendary. Huge basket of chips (more than you could eat) and plenty of mushy peas. Alas no longer! They've gone poncy. Chips are now served in a small metal cup and the peas come in a tiny ceramic fish (you get about a spoonful) and all for £11.50! I asked for a few more peas and they couldn't do enough for me. The waiter arrived with extra chips and tartare sauce too! I hesitate to recommend the place though as not everyone will feel comfortable at having to ask for bigger portions.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indie-Brindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were staying in Coniston and called in for a drink and meal.The menu wasn't huge but we had a starter and main course and couldn't fault the food and portions were generous.Would certainly go there again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JackieP929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Brought two friends here for beer and food before a pre wedding run in the fells. Great food, great beer (understatement) made welcome and well looked after. Having lived here for some time it still remains a favourite spot, more so now.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank bunglebop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed here 2 nights, it is a friendly hotel, busy bar, it is the Lakes! But the staff were very friendly as were the patrons. The bar sells Coniston bluebird, a great pint.
The room we stayed in was basic and smallish, but for the price in the lakes it was very good. The food was very good too.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Rdajackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stopped here for one night recently at short notice - the room (11) was ok, small and with just a sky light window. No en-suite shower (a detachable hose was supplied) but plenty of hot water for the bath. The toilet seat was very worn and I'm not sure the bedding had been changed as there were some long hairs in it which I definitely don't have, as well one or two in the bathroom ! The whole place in general does feel tired, a bit down at heel and in need of some sympathetic refurbishment. I had fish & chips in the evening which was very good if a little expensive and breakfast was fine if nothing special.

Generally the service was good and friendly if functional and needing somewhere at short notice and having called in here before for a drink, I wasn't too put out by any shortcomings as I was on my own and it was just for one night, but I don't think I'd bother staying again as I'm sure there are better options nearby for the price, certainly for a longer stay. It's very much a tourist pub in a tourist trap and in a fantastic location, but which does sell very good beer brewed on the premises, if you're a real ale fan.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#3 of 6 in Coniston
675 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#1 of 6 in Coniston
289 reviews
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
703 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bull Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull Inn and Hotel

Address: Coppermines Road | Yewdale Road, Coniston LA21 8HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range: £114 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bull Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Black Bull Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bull Hotel Coniston
Black Bull Coniston
Black Bull Inn And Hotel Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing