We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Lakeland House(Coniston)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Waterhead Hotel(Coniston)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
YHA Coniston Holly How(Coniston)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
YHA Coniston Coppermines(Coniston)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Orchard Cottage(Coniston)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluebird Lodge(Coniston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
203
180
50
28
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
203
180
50
28
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack bullthe pubown brewerygreat beerbrewed on sitebarley wineoatmeal stoutchillibluebird xbcumberland sausageveggie optionsspecials boardreal aleate herefish and chipslake districtbar meals
Filter
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We ate here on a Saturday night- it was busy inside but we managed to get a table and our mains were lovely and good price- steak, scampi and a couple of glasses of wine for about 40 quid. Pudding was good too, and we enjoyed sampling local beers in the trio of 1/3 pints you can order.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I'm beginning to get addicted to this place. Coniston itself is a real gem of the Lake District. Much quieter than Windermere. The Black Bull is a fantastic pub in a great location. I have always been impressed with the food. The portions may seem a little small, but quality over quantity for me. There is a great selection of ales and lager on tap, with a nice German Weizen thrown into the mix. The Black Bull is dog friendly too. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikerSimon1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Amazing pub food with a great range of beers and ales on offer too! We had the lamb, chilli, scampi and duck and they were all thoroughly enjoyed by all! Cosy and friendly atmosphere and well located in the centre of coniston. Will recommend to others and definitely visit again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Meganne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stopped off at the Black Bull for a drink a couple of times during a recent visit to the area. The pub brews it's own beer and the staff are very knowledgeable and happy to pick something out for you based on preference. The barley wine was great, worth a trip back for that alone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TSc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stopped of for a meal after a trip into the hills with our two English Pointers, the Inn is very dog friendly and we were made to feel very welcome by the staff.
We ordered the salmon special for my wife and I had the fish cakes starter and we both agreed they were delicious and good value for money.
The Inn brews its own beer and you must try the Beer in the Bat which offers you the chance to try three different beers each served in a 3rd pint glass from the beers brewed on site.
The puddings were delicious and although the staff advised they were not home made we have already decided to return for another meal.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews