We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beware”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just got back from staying at the Black Bull At Coniston food was really excellent and very clean but what let it down for us the bedrooms ceilings and doorways are very low so if you are 6ft tall you had to keep bending your head but ok for a short stay.
What really upset me was we booked through booking.com for a Friday/Saturday night but about 10 days before we were due to go I could not get off work so had to cancel the Friday so I phoned and was told no problem. But when I went to pay my room bill got told that it was £144 the room was only £110 so when I asked about this I was told that there was a cancellation fee. Booking.com state there is a free cancellation and after some discussion I got £20 back but that upset the weekend SO BEWARE OF THIS!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas603, Manager at Black Bull Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your review and for staying with us but lets put the record straight, you booked through booking .com for 2 nights as our policy is a minimum of 2 nights at weekends ,you then rang and asked to cancel 1 night which we agreed to but as it was less than 7 days notice we get charged commission on a 2 night booking ,I have checked the cancellation and it was 6 days before your arrival date and if you look on booking.com you will see the cancellation policy is free cancellation upto 7 days before arrival ,so we did not relet the room and got charged commission on a 2 night booking and you got £20.00 back ,if you had tried to cancal through booking .com has you should have done you would have been charged the full amount,lesson for us if booking through agency get guest to cancal through agency
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    165
    49
    24
    18
See reviews for
84
204
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Black Bull has a fine reputation and having spent a long weekend there, we can understand why. Our room was in the annex, which has a separate entrance to the main building and allows a little more independence.The room was compact, but was well designed, had all we needed and was very clean. Service in the pub was excellent even when busy. The beer is award winning - an extensive selection which even my wife succumbed to. Breakfast was fabulous - full English if you wanted it. Evening meals were varied and of high quality, with dining options in the separate restaurant or the pub lounge. The pub is in a central location to explore Coniston and in the heart of a great fell walking area. We also hired bikes and cycled round the Lake (we chose Sunday as it was the quietest day). Donald Campbell's legacy lives on in the village and is celebrated by the Bluebird brewery which is part of the pub. We stayed an extra night as we were having such an enjoyable time...and we will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the separate annex and were woken by the brewery workers on the Monday morning, but tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury lancs
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Have just returned from celebrating my wife's birthday at The Black Bull, once again a lovely warm welcome from Sue and very friendly staff. Room was spotless, breakfasts excellent quality and plentiful and meals the same, particularly recommended are the haddock and gammon.Good variety of beers and lagers brewed on the premises. We have been staying at this inn for almost 25 years and it never fails to impress in terms of service and value for money. Can't wait to go back, thank you.

Room Tip: Dogs are welcome and if your pet finds stairs difficult to manage, ask for a room in the annex or ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Have just returned from three fabulous days in the lakes , stayed at the black bull off the back of others reviews on trip advisor , the rooms were clean and comfortable , staff friendly and helpful , beer was fantastic , breakfast superb , evening meals really nice with a good choice , we dropped on with the weather so that made our stay all the better as we could sit outside and watch the world go by , if like me you read reviews on trip advisor the black bull really is a great place to stay

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 and it was quite hot at night , when we go again may ask for one of the outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Have just spent the most wonderful weekend at The Black Bull Hotel. Superb room, incredible breakfast and amazing food served on the evening. Fantastic location and warm and friendly hospitality. Cannot wait to return and would highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

On our 1st visit to this lovely part of the lakes we decided to eat most lunch times and also 1 evening meal here, were not disappointed!food and service was 1st class, will definitely be back next year!even our border collies chilled in the shaded courtyard!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Isle
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We went there only because we read on the back of a Coniston beer label that the beer (already fabulous) was even better when dining there. Excellent advice! If you're not already in Coniston, t's out of the way along windy roads, but was worth the trip. best advice - STAY AT THE INN there and then you can enjoy more than one meal at the restaurant - and more than one beer since you won't have to drive! The best food we had in our 10-day trip.

Room Tip: ate at the restaurant but didn't use the inn or see any rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suntracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.0 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#2 of 6 in Coniston
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
652 reviews
4.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
958 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bull Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull Inn and Hotel

Property: Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Address: Coppermines Road | Yewdale Road, Coniston LA21 8HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bull Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Black Bull Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bull Hotel Coniston
Black Bull Coniston
Black Bull Inn And Hotel Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing