We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Waterhead Hotel(Coniston)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Yewdale Inn(Coniston)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monk Coniston(Coniston)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
203
180
50
28
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
203
180
50
28
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack bullthe pubown brewerygreat beerbrewed on sitebarley wineoatmeal stoutchillibluebird xbcumberland sausageveggie optionsspecials boardreal aleate herefish and chipslake districtbar meals
Filter
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just got back from staying at the Black Bull At Coniston food was really excellent and very clean but what let it down for us the bedrooms ceilings and doorways are very low so if you are 6ft tall you had to keep bending your head but ok for a short stay.
What really upset me was we booked through booking.com for a Friday/Saturday night but about 10 days before we were due to go I could not get off work so had to cancel the Friday so I phoned and was told no problem. But when I went to pay my room bill got told that it was £144 the room was only £110 so when I asked about this I was told that there was a cancellation fee. Booking.com state there is a free cancellation and after some discussion I got £20 back but that upset the weekend SO BEWARE OF THIS!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliff000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas603, Manager at Black Bull Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for your review and for staying with us but lets put the record straight, you booked through booking .com for 2 nights as our policy is a minimum of 2 nights at weekends ,you then rang and asked to cancel 1 night which we agreed to but as it was less than 7 days notice we get charged commission on a 2 night booking ,I have checked the cancellation and it was 6 days before your arrival date and if you look on booking.com you will see the cancellation policy is free cancellation upto 7 days before arrival ,so we did not relet the room and got charged commission on a 2 night booking and you got £20.00 back ,if you had tried to cancal through booking .com has you should have done you would have been charged the full amount,lesson for us if booking through agency get guest to cancal through agency

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Black Bull has a fine reputation and having spent a long weekend there, we can understand why. Our room was in the annex, which has a separate entrance to the main building and allows a little more independence.The room was compact, but was well designed, had all we needed and was very clean. Service in the pub was excellent even when busy. The beer is award winning - an extensive selection which even my wife succumbed to. Breakfast was fabulous - full English if you wanted it. Evening meals were varied and of high quality, with dining options in the separate restaurant or the pub lounge. The pub is in a central location to explore Coniston and in the heart of a great fell walking area. We also hired bikes and cycled round the Lake (we chose Sunday as it was the quietest day). Donald Campbell's legacy lives on in the village and is celebrated by the Bluebird brewery which is part of the pub. We stayed an extra night as we were having such an enjoyable time...and we will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the separate annex and were woken by the brewery workers on the Monday morning, but that was a small price to pay as the beer is so good. The annex rooms are compact, but well designed, very clean and provided a litttle more independence than being in the main building.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Have just returned from celebrating my wife's birthday at The Black Bull, once again a lovely warm welcome from Sue and very friendly staff. Room was spotless, breakfasts excellent quality and plentiful and meals the same, particularly recommended are the haddock and gammon.Good variety of beers and lagers brewed on the premises. We have been staying at this inn for almost 25 years and it never fails to impress in terms of service and value for money. Can't wait to go back, thank you.

Room Tip: Dogs are welcome and if your pet finds stairs difficult to manage, ask for a room in the annex or adjoining cottage.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Have just returned from three fabulous days in the lakes , stayed at the black bull off the back of others reviews on trip advisor , the rooms were clean and comfortable , staff friendly and helpful , beer was fantastic , breakfast superb , evening meals really nice with a good choice , we dropped on with the weather so that made our stay all the better as we could sit outside and watch the world go by , if like me you read reviews on trip advisor the black bull really is a great place to stay

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 and it was quite hot at night , when we go again may ask for one of the outside rooms in the cottage next door.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Have just spent the most wonderful weekend at The Black Bull Hotel. Superb room, incredible breakfast and amazing food served on the evening. Fantastic location and warm and friendly hospitality. Cannot wait to return and would highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews