We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bull Inn and Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
407 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We went here for our lunch today and it was a real treat. My friend had a sandwich and it was massive and she found it really tasty and I had the salmon risotto from the specials menu and it was amazing. The atmosphere was really good and we had a puppy with us and so it was glad that we felt she was welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slocker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    160
    48
    22
    17
See reviews for
76
198
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights here while sailing at Coniston Lake. Room was large and comfortable for whole family. We ate in the restaurant each night - good choice of pub grub and specials - portions large (you will not go hungry) especially at breakfast. But what really made the place a joy was the staff, lovely people each and every one of them.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Beautiful area people are nice , sat out site almost on the road but enjoyed it . get there early to park on a Sunday if its nice.

Food was nice and just enough plus not over priced we just had toasties and a coke .

dogs welcome

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire Uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Was staying near Coniston last weekend and called in for sunday lunch. We were a group of 11 including children but were accomodated with a large table at the quiet end of the pub so we could sit together. The sunday lunch was excellent with good frendly service. The beer selection was very good and i can recommend the cider but not if you are driving. Well worth a visit and i will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmPGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just come back from a fab weekend in Coniston. Stayed at The Black Bull which was lovely.
We had a family room which was enormous with a separate area for our little girl to sleep. Bathroom modern, spacious and very clean.
Quiet at night.
Breakfast staff were very friendly, helpful and polite and food was tasty. Had full breakfast one morning and a large doorstop bacon butty the next which I demolished as was yummy.
Real coffee too.
Ate there one night and the steak pudding was delightful.
Overall, a lovely 2 nights stay would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarelynch3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just got back from staying at the Black Bull At Coniston food was really excellent and very clean but what let it down for us the bedrooms ceilings and doorways are very low so if you are 6ft tall you had to keep bending your head but ok for a short stay.
What really upset me was we booked through booking.com for a Friday/Saturday night but about 10 days before we were due to go I could not get off work so had to cancel the Friday so I phoned and was told no problem. But when I went to pay my room bill got told that it was £144 the room was only £110 so when I asked about this I was told that there was a cancellation fee. Booking.com state there is a free cancellation and after some discussion I got £20 back but that upset the weekend SO BEWARE OF THIS!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas603, Manager at Black Bull Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your review and for staying with us but lets put the record straight, you booked through booking .com for 2 nights as our policy is a minimum of 2 nights at weekends ,you then rang and asked to cancel 1 night which we agreed to but as it was less than 7 days notice we get charged commission on a 2 night booking ,I have checked the cancellation and it was 6 days before your arrival date and if you look on booking.com you will see the cancellation policy is free cancellation upto 7 days before arrival ,so we did not relet the room and got charged commission on a 2 night booking and you got £20.00 back ,if you had tried to cancal through booking .com has you should have done you would have been charged the full amount,lesson for us if booking through agency get guest to cancal through agency
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Black Bull has a fine reputation and having spent a long weekend there, we can understand why. Our room was in the annex, which has a separate entrance to the main building and allows a little more independence.The room was compact, but was well designed, had all we needed and was very clean. Service in the pub was excellent even when busy. The beer is award winning - an extensive selection which even my wife succumbed to. Breakfast was fabulous - full English if you wanted it. Evening meals were varied and of high quality, with dining options in the separate restaurant or the pub lounge. The pub is in a central location to explore Coniston and in the heart of a great fell walking area. We also hired bikes and cycled round the Lake (we chose Sunday as it was the quietest day). Donald Campbell's legacy lives on in the village and is celebrated by the Bluebird brewery which is part of the pub. We stayed an extra night as we were having such an enjoyable time...and we will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the separate annex and were woken by the brewery workers on the Monday morning, but tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#3 of 6 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
4.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bull Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull Inn and Hotel

Property: Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Address: Coppermines Road | Yewdale Road, Coniston LA21 8HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bull Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Black Bull Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bull Hotel Coniston
Black Bull Coniston
Black Bull Inn And Hotel Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing