We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coniston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages
Yorkshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We both enjoyed our recent stay here. It's a short drive to Coniston Village with its local shops for gifts and enough pubs if you like to drink.

Helen was very friendly. Our room was as it should be: comfortable bed, lovely hot shower with plenty of water. There was a double wardrobe with plenty of room for your clothes (with enough hangers). Everything was clean, there were wine glasses and a corkscrew which was a thoughtful touch. There are plenty of maps and books giving information about local walks etc.

The only thing we would mention is that if you're used to always having two packets of biscuits on your refreshment tray as standard in four star accommodation, there was only one packet; i.e. one biscuit each. There was coffee but just three teabags (not good if you like plenty of tea) :-) . We know its "complimentary" and yes, we could have asked for more but we feel in four star accommodation a little more could be provided. We stayed there early September and the central heating seemed to come on for a couple of hours in the morning and in the evening, so if you were to arrive late in the evening the heating would probably be turned off. When staying in accommodation we like to be able to control the heating at a time that suits us, although we do realise heating is not on overnight.

Breakfast is served at 8:30 am although you can have it up to 9:15am so no leisurely lie-ins at the weekend. :-) Breakfast was lovely, fresh, plentiful and lots of toast and tea if you wanted. There was also juice, fresh fruit and yoghurts.

We both enjoyed our stay in Coniston and would visit the area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovemyOwtdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for the review, its nice to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry about the spare tea bags, I leave spare everything, tea, coffee, sugar, soap, shower cap etc. in the alcove between the Lake View and the Woodland room its down the hallway from the Pine View room which you were in. I replenish daily. The heating was still on summer times when you stayed but is on longer now with the Autumn chill at night. regards Helen & Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    19
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
86
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Mildura, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Browside for five wonderful nights approx 12-16 July. Helen picked us up from the bus stop at Coniston and we found that to be just the start of a fantastic holiday experience. Helen could not have been friendlier, more helpful and obliging - even to the point of helping us with laundry. Her friendly manner, beautiful home and cosy rooms were most welcome, especially after a day cycling to Sawrey and the next day climbing the Old Man of Coniston. We even had sandwiches made for our lunch whilst hiking. We have stayed at some great B&B's in USA several years ago but Browside beats them all, thank you Helen for such a great stay. Watching the chooks and sheep come in each evening from our room was also one of the highlights for me, and the porridge each morning.......... Could not have been better, Joy & Ian

Room Tip: If you don't have a car and don't like walking this will not suit you, but we do enjoy walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you very much for the great review, I do try to be of help if I can, I was a little worried when you arrived without transport, but you managed very well with local buses and local taxi and footpath to the pubs I was very impressed with your organising, Regards Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed here with my Mum and sister in July. We each had little terraces and had great weather and so it was amazing to sit outside here and watch the sheep and the chickens before having the amazing breakfast. The rooms were spotless and great value for money and the hosts were lovely. We had an amazing break and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. There was ample parking for the rooms and it was well situated to explore the surrounding area. The beds are also super comfortable and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for the very kind review, it was such a lovely summer your review is a nice reminder of the perfect weather we had, Thanks Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We spent two nights at Browside. We had the lake view room and the sunrise at 6.30am was stunning. The room was very comfortable and the en suite immaculately clean. Breakfast was delicious - a nice selection of fresh fruits and a hearty cooked plate, made more special as we could view the hens that laid the eggs contentedly pecking in the field beyond. Helen, our host, was very helpful with advice on the many walks available in the area and had a number of maps and guides of the lake District that we could browse. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and would definitely recommend this B and B for comfort, friendliness and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosemaryC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Manager at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
So nice to hear you enjoyed your stay at Browside, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review, Regards Helen & Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiRFIELD
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Another stay at Browside Bed & Breakfast. This is a lovely friendly B & B in a lovely part of the Lake District, all the rooms are very comfortable, clean with great beds and nice bathrooms. The breakfasts that Helen cooks are just gorgeous, even better whilst gazing over the fields watching the hens and sheep wander around, with great views over towards Coniston Lake with the magnificent hills in the distance. It's a perfect place for walking many walks in all directions straight from the door, low level or higher ones such as the Old Man or Dow Crag also it's in a perfect location for driving to the coast or to other local villages. We usually stay in their beautifully appointed cottage next door, for a week earlier in the year but it's also nice to be able to come up and stay for a couple of nights in their B & B as another option.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable looking with nice views, all rooms are quiet being away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlewigg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
It was lovely to see you all again so soon, I was pleased you could get some nice walks in as the weather improved,Thank you for the kind review , We will look forward to seeing you when staying in our holiday cottage next year, Helen & Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My partner and I have just returned from 4 nights at the Browside, staying in the Pine View Room. We had this room by accident rather than design as it was the only one left when we booked, and it was wonderful! A huge bed, small but perfectly formed shower room, lovely patio doors onto a little seating area that we were lucky enough to be able to use and a fantastic view of the resident hens and on one occasion most of the sheep from the neighbouring farm who appeared to have broken down the gate!
Helen was a lovely host, on hand with a weather forecast every morning and supplier of a wonderful breakfast, tasty, well cooked and a great start to every day. Helen also provided us with a packed lunch most days, for a charge of £5 each, and this was also tasty, well made and excellent value for money.
Location wise we found that the walk to Torver took around 15/20 minutes and the lakeside walk into Coniston took around 50 minutes, although you can get into Coniston much quicker if you go left out of the gates and follow the footpath that runs parallel with the main road.
We enjoyed our stay at Browside so much that we have already recommended it to my partners parents who booked for later this month.
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, we have 2 big celebrations to plan next year and hope to return for at least one of them!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigermel_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you very much for the great review and good luck with the wedding plans, Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

What a gem we found, a home style B+B with quality facilities, attention to creature comforts and a hospitable host. The room was cosy, comfortable and immaculately clean with stunnning view., The large picture windows allowed us to watch sheep, hens and horses strolling the fields whilst we lay in bed with complete privacy. We own a hotel ourselves and so really appreciate what effort Helen clearly puts into her business to ensure the highest level of comfort and enjoyment for her guests. We wish you lots of success.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilobrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Browside its a huge compliment to get a such a glowing review from a hotel owner, you understand all the extra work guests don't get to see, regards Helen & Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
1.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
665 reviews
7.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.3 mi away
Crake Valley Holiday Park
Crake Valley Holiday Park
#1 of 8 in Ulverston
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
1.7 mi away
Crown Inn Coniston
Crown Inn Coniston
#5 of 15 in Coniston
366 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#3 of 6 in Coniston
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages

Property: Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages
Address: Little Arrow,Near Coniston,Cumbria | Browside, Coniston LA21 8AU, England (Formerly Browside Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browside is a large well equipped self catering house it sleeps 4- 12 set in lovely gardens with a hot tub. Situated a the foot of Conison Old Man, A perfect location for walking with lake shore and fell paths from our door,Park your car and stroll to nearby country pubs for a tasty pub lunch, Lots to do in the area horse riding, boating centre, historic houses,swimming pool/spa,shopping.We also own&let Underwood Cottage situated next door,it sleeps 2-6 in 3 ensuite bedroooms,full fitted kitchen,large lounge,country style garden with patio & new hot tub,parking for 3 cars ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing