We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Waterhead Hotel(Coniston)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Yewdale Inn(Coniston)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monk Coniston(Coniston)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
125
19
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
19
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubwilson armssheep fieldlake districtgravel pathnearest villageview from the dining roomconiston waterlocal walksowners livebed and breakfaststayed here for a weeklovely holidaystunning viewsholiday homefamily bathroomself catering holiday
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We both enjoyed our recent stay here. It's a short drive to Coniston Village with its local shops for gifts and enough pubs if you like to drink.

Helen was very friendly. Our room was as it should be: comfortable bed, lovely hot shower with plenty of water. There was a double wardrobe with plenty of room for your clothes (with enough hangers). Everything was clean, there were wine glasses and a corkscrew which was a thoughtful touch. There are plenty of maps and books giving information about local walks etc.

The only thing we would mention is that if you're used to always having two packets of biscuits on your refreshment tray as standard in four star accommodation, there was only one packet; i.e. one biscuit each. There was coffee but just three teabags (not good if you like plenty of tea) :-) . We know its "complimentary" and yes, we could have asked for more but we feel in four star accommodation a little more could be provided. We stayed there early September and the central heating seemed to come on for a couple of hours in the morning and in the evening, so if you were to arrive late in the evening the heating would probably be turned off. When staying in accommodation we like to be able to control the heating at a time that suits us, although we do realise heating is not on overnight.

Breakfast is served at 8:30 am although you can have it up to 9:15am so no leisurely lie-ins at the weekend. :-) Breakfast was lovely, fresh, plentiful and lots of toast and tea if you wanted. There was also juice, fresh fruit and yoghurts.

We both enjoyed our stay in Coniston and would visit the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovemyOwtdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for the review, its nice to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry about the spare tea bags, I leave spare everything, tea, coffee, sugar, soap, shower cap etc. in the alcove between the Lake View and the Woodland room its down the hallway from the Pine View room which you were in. I replenish daily. The heating was still on summer times when you stayed but is on longer now with the Autumn chill at night. regards Helen & Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Browside for five wonderful nights approx 12-16 July. Helen picked us up from the bus stop at Coniston and we found that to be just the start of a fantastic holiday experience. Helen could not have been friendlier, more helpful and obliging - even to the point of helping us with laundry. Her friendly manner, beautiful home and cosy rooms were most welcome, especially after a day cycling to Sawrey and the next day climbing the Old Man of Coniston. We even had sandwiches made for our lunch whilst hiking. We have stayed at some great B&B's in USA several years ago but Browside beats them all, thank you Helen for such a great stay. Watching the chooks and sheep come in each evening from our room was also one of the highlights for me, and the porridge each morning.......... Could not have been better, Joy & Ian

Room Tip: If you don't have a car and don't like walking this will not suit you, but we do enjoy walking and the trip to either Coniston or Torver each night for dinner were just wonderful.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you very much for the great review, I do try to be of help if I can, I was a little worried when you arrived without transport, but you managed very well with local buses and local taxi and footpath to the pubs I was very impressed with your organising, Regards Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed here with my Mum and sister in July. We each had little terraces and had great weather and so it was amazing to sit outside here and watch the sheep and the chickens before having the amazing breakfast. The rooms were spotless and great value for money and the hosts were lovely. We had an amazing break and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. There was ample parking for the rooms and it was well situated to explore the surrounding area. The beds are also super comfortable and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you for the very kind review, it was such a lovely summer your review is a nice reminder of the perfect weather we had, Thanks Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We spent two nights at Browside. We had the lake view room and the sunrise at 6.30am was stunning. The room was very comfortable and the en suite immaculately clean. Breakfast was delicious - a nice selection of fresh fruits and a hearty cooked plate, made more special as we could view the hens that laid the eggs contentedly pecking in the field beyond. Helen, our host, was very helpful with advice on the many walks available in the area and had a number of maps and guides of the lake District that we could browse. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and would definitely recommend this B and B for comfort, friendliness and value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosemaryC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Manager at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

So nice to hear you enjoyed your stay at Browside, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review, Regards Helen & Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Another stay at Browside Bed & Breakfast. This is a lovely friendly B & B in a lovely part of the Lake District, all the rooms are very comfortable, clean with great beds and nice bathrooms. The breakfasts that Helen cooks are just gorgeous, even better whilst gazing over the fields watching the hens and sheep wander around, with great views over towards Coniston Lake with the magnificent hills in the distance. It's a perfect place for walking many walks in all directions straight from the door, low level or higher ones such as the Old Man or Dow Crag also it's in a perfect location for driving to the coast or to other local villages. We usually stay in their beautifully appointed cottage next door, for a week earlier in the year but it's also nice to be able to come up and stay for a couple of nights in their B & B as another option.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable looking with nice views, all rooms are quiet being away from the road
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlewigg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

It was lovely to see you all again so soon, I was pleased you could get some nice walks in as the weather improved,Thank you for the kind review , We will look forward to seeing you when staying in our holiday cottage next year, Helen & Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews