We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Retreat from the Hustle and Bustle”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coniston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We drove into a crowded Coniston on Easter Saturday right out of a traffic jam. We tend to like to stay away from the hustle and bustle and so, when we arrived at the Browside Guest House, it was with a great sigh of relief. Less than 2 miles from Coniston, but a peaceful rural world away, it was the perfect base for our 2 day stay in the Lake District. the roomy off road parking on the property is a bonus.
Helen made us most welcome and showed us to the comfy Woodland Room. We strolled the short distance to the Wilson Arms at Torver for a pizza and then back to a good night's sleep in the very comfy bed.
Breakfast was perfectly cooked scrumptious local produce served in the dining room overlooking the fells and lambs in the farm fields with glimpses of Coniston Lake in the distance. Armed with maps and useful suggestions from Helen,as well as a packed lunch, we set out for a long day's walking into Coniston then along the Lake and onto the Torver Tarns. Dinner was again in Torver at the Wilson Arms but a proper pub meal this time.
Fuelled by an early breakfast, we set off totally de-stressed after our country retreat for an Easter Monday long drive to Gatwick.

Room Tip: The view from the Woodland Room is rural and relaxing with doors leading out to a patio and small ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wokabaut_meri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you very much for the kind and helpful review, Regards Helen & Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have just stayed at Browside for 3 nights, and it was everything we hoped it would be. From arrival right through to departure Helen was very accommodating with her hospitality and information. We took 2 rooms and both were lovely and clean and warm when needed. Although the views from each room were different, both added to our experience. Excellent breakfast. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Lakeland room as a view of the mountains and the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for the great review its nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us,

Helen & Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed for 3 nights at Browside last week, and it was everything I thought it would be and more, I only met Helen and she is easy to get along with, she is full of useful information on where to go, how to get there, also places to eat.

The views from this lovely B & B are wonderful and exactly the peace and quite I was hoping for, I would most certainly go back again.

Thank you Helen.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your first visit to the lakes,

regards Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed one night to attend a wedding and could not fault this place.Helen was a lovely lady who made us very welcome and even allowed us to check in early.The room where we stayed was the woodland and was spotless and cosy. The view from the dining room window was picture perfect and the breakfast was very enjoyable. We had our wedding meal at the Wilsons Arms in Torver but don't forget your torch for the walk home. A very enjoyable stay thank you.

Room Tip: I could recommend the woodland room where we stayed but didn't see the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Over the past 20 years we have gained a lot of repeat bookings, we do not advertise on many sites to keep our prices down, to book or find out more about Browside please see our own Browside B&B web site

Thank you Helen & Allan Dugdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Helen & Allan were very helpful and welcoming, the rooms were very nice and clean with great views, would definitely stay again and would recommend, the breakfast was very tasty and filled us up for most of the day

Room Tip: the lake view room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAB268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review they really do make a great deal of difference to are bookings at Browside
Regards Helen & Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just back from 2 nights stay at Browside. Our room was clean, warm and comfortable, breakfast was excellent (complete with lovely view) and Helen is very welcoming.
We ate at Wilson's in Torver, which is a 10 minute walk away, along a brand new path along the disused railway line, so we were able to enjoy a couple of pints of ale without worry! Food there was very good, but be warned, portions are LARGE!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fligs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a helpful review, we do appreciate it, I agree the old railway line is a lovely flat walk to the pub with great views of Coniston Old Man.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights and had a really relaxing stay. Helen is helpful and really friendly. The rooms are really comfortable and well equipped and the view we had from our room was simply stunning. Breakfast is excellent and sets you up well for the day and it's a lovely place to come back to. We ate at the Wilsons a short walk away if you don't want to drive . That was very good too. Coniston is a lovely lake walk away - all in all a great place to stay and we will be back. Ideally located for walks generally in the area.

Room Tip: Lovely rooms - talk to Helen when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueB000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

This review is an excellent review for future guests to read, as you have described perfectly what we aim to provide. A relaxing stay in clean modern on-suite bedrooms with comfortable beds, hearty breakfast, in a good location for walking.
The footpath to the pubs is along the old railway line so comfortable footwear and a good torch are advisable we do provide small torches. Thank you Helen & Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
8.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,401 reviews
1.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#3 of 6 in Coniston
676 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wheelgate Bed & Breakfast
Wheelgate Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 15 in Coniston
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Church House Inn
Church House Inn
#2 of 2 in Torver
120 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lakeland House
Lakeland House
#1 of 15 in Coniston
304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wilson Arms
Wilson Arms
#1 of 2 in Torver
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages

Address: Little Arrow,Near Coniston,Cumbria | Browside, Coniston LA21 8AU, England (Formerly Browside Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Coniston
Price Range: £32 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browside is a large well equipped self catering house it sleeps 4- 12 set in lovely gardens with a hot tub. Situated a the foot of Conison Old Man, A perfect location for walking with lake shore and fell paths from our door,Park your car and stroll to nearby country pubs for a tasty pub lunch, Lots to do in the area horse riding, boating centre, historic houses,swimming pool/spa,shopping.We also own&let Underwood Cottage situated next door,it sleeps 2-6 in 3 ensuite bedroooms,full fitted kitchen,large lounge,country style garden with patio & new hot tub,parking for 3 cars ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing