We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious Family lounge area with 50' TV and log burning fire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious Family lounge area with 50' TV and log burning fire
Coniston Water in Summer Large Oak dining table seats 8 adults
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Spacious Family lounge area with 50' TV and log burning fire
Coniston Water in Summer
Large Oak dining table seats 8 adults
Master bedroom with king-sized bed TV/DVD player and en-suite
Master bedroom en-suite double shower enclosure, slate flooring
Torver Jetty after a storm
New kitchen with slate floor, dishwasher, washing machine and fridge/freezer, electric hob and oven
Entrance hallway with plenty of room to hang coats and store walking boots or cycles
Spacious twin bedroom with TV/DVD player
Visit Britain grading
Second twin bedroom with oak furniture
Family bathroom with large bath and shower over, slate flooring
Lawned garden and patio area
Early morning Coniston Water from Bluebird Cafe
Char Fishing competition on Coniston Water
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lilybob81
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This cottage was one of the best we have stayed at in the lakes. It is very welcoming and has everything you should need (we have a baby and a 4 year old). Bev was very thoughtful and rang to ask if we needed a high chair or stair gate and even left us a bottle of wine! It is decorated to a high standard with lovely bathrooms, soft towels, comfy beds and lots of space for coats and boots. The only negative was very noisy floorboards upstairs but this only affected us because of the children and of course it's an old property.
The situation is fantastic for walks and pubs, the garden is also great for the children. Thank you for having us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thanks for taking the time to review Ash Gill Cottage and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We are, however, sorry to hear that you found the upstairs floorboards noisy, with the property only 25 years old and the floorboards replaced when we refurbished in 2013, we are aware that they do make some noise, although not excessive and this is the first instance of guests openly reporting floorboard noise during their stay at Ash Gill. We just hope that it didn't spoil the enjoyment of your holiday.
We are glad that that you found the house comfortable and welcoming and describe it to be "one of the best" in the lakes that you have stayed in, we try our best to ensure our guests have the best facilities we can provide and it certainly helps having two excellent pubs within 150 yards of the doorstep and a plethora of walks to choose from.
We do hope to welcome you back to Ash Gill Cottage again at some point in the future.
Best regards,
Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How clean the house was
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of your stay at Ash Gill.
We strive to present the house in perfect condition and are glad you arrived to a spotlessly clean and welcoming house.
It is wonderful to learn that your children had a fantastic time and we look forward to welcoming you all back again in the future.
Kind regards,
Bev.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Excellent spacious property. Immaculately presented. Outside does not do it justice. Everything provided for our needs. Lovely enclosed garden for the grandchildren to play in. The beds were very comfortable and rooms had ample storage space. Plenty to see and do in the area. Two excellent pubs within a 2 min walk serving excellent food. We would love to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, space and equipment.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Ash Gill.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your celebratory stay with your family and found that there was plenty to see and do.
It's fantastic that the house comfortably accommodated you all.
We do try to think of new ways to ensure our guests' needs are catered for whilst staying at Ash Gill and it's great to learn that you found everything that you needed, was already in place.
We of course look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Best regards,
Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMinW...
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Thought of everything”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is our second visit to Ash Gill, probably the best equipped and most comfortable holiday cottage we have stayed in - and we have stayed in quite a few. The cottage is well located for walks from the doorstep, from easier lakeside walks to climbing the Coniston fells for the more adventurous. We also cycled to Coniston along the lakeside cycle route and then on to Brantwood and the east side of the lake. Would recommend the Wilsons Arms for good food and beer, and the Church House Inn is also very good. Plenty of visitor attractions in the area for all ages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are glad that you found returning to Ash Gill Cottage for your second visit was successful. We are fortunate to be located in a beautiful area and having two fantastic hostelries on the doorstep makes life pleasurable, especially if you don't want to cook or sample the locally brewed beers.

We aim to ensure that our guests are as comfortable as possible and try to think of everything that may make our guests' stay easy and effortless and we are always looking to improve if we can.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit at some point in the future.
Kind regards,
Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S
Clent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday cottage near Coniston”
Reviewed 3 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Two families stayed here for a few days over half term. We had a fab time despite the weather!! Facilities in the cottage were probably the best we have experienced in the Lakes and we have had quite a few holidays over the years. Would definitely like to stay again in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review Ash Gill Cottage.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the facilities, we do try to make it a 'home from home' and we try to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.
Best regards,
Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMinW...
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Super cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 21 December 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The cottage is tastefully furnished, well equipped and very clean. The location is perfect for walking in the Coniston / Duddon Valley area from the doorstep. We enjoyed taking the Coniston launch from Torver to Coniston and walking back along the lake shore. The local pub, the Wilsons Arms is 100 metres from the cottage, serves excellent food and has a good selection of wines and beers. We enjoyed our holiday here so much that we have just booked to return in July 2016.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2016
Thank you for taking time to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back this summer.
Kind regards,
Bev.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airfait
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect place.”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This place meets all the requirements to a high standard. I've visited twice and I'll be happy to visit again.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we're thrilled that you chose to return for your second visit. We look forward to welcoming you back once again.
Best regards,
Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing