We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious Family lounge area with 50' TV and log burning fire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious Family lounge area with 50' TV and log burning fire
Coniston Water in Summer Large Oak dining table seats 8 adults
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Spacious Family lounge area with 50' TV and log burning fire
Coniston Water in Summer
Large Oak dining table seats 8 adults
Master bedroom with king-sized bed TV/DVD player and en-suite
Master bedroom en-suite double shower enclosure, slate flooring
Torver Jetty after a storm
New kitchen with slate floor, dishwasher, washing machine and fridge/freezer, electric hob and oven
Entrance hallway with plenty of room to hang coats and store walking boots or cycles
Spacious twin bedroom with TV/DVD player
Visit Britain grading
Second twin bedroom with oak furniture
Family bathroom with large bath and shower over, slate flooring
Lawned garden and patio area
Early morning Coniston Water from Bluebird Cafe
Char Fishing competition on Coniston Water
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mangocatc...
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

we stayed here for three nights, we all love it ! Not only for the location, also very clean and comfortable, well equipment kitchen, very nice and big sitting room with fireplace, also a nice bottle of wine and welcome card was much appreciated.we all love to go back again and 100% would recommend this house to my friends! Big thanks!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and are glad you enjoyed the house and its facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the future.
Best regards
Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found everything that you needed in the house.
We are lucky to have two fantastic pubs on the doorstep, serving great food and local beers.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jun 2017
Thanks for taking the time review Ash Gill Cottage.

We're glad that you had a great time enjoying the area and the fantastic weather that you had for your family celebrations.

We are pleased that you found everything that you needed in the house for your stay and we hope to welcome you all back in the future.

Best regards
Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Thanks for taking the time to post a wonderful review of your stay.
The house is deceptively spacious and we do aim to ensure it is as comfy and as clean as we can possibly achieve.
Having two great pubs within 150yds, serving generous portions of good food is a bonus for those who don't want to cook or for those looking to try locally brewed beers.
We are grateful that you think we've 'hit the nail on the head' and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best regards
Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KnucklesB...
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

A great three night stay in a lovely home. Modern throughout with everything you need for your stay. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2017
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at Ash Gill Cottage, we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilybob81
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This cottage was one of the best we have stayed at in the lakes. It is very welcoming and has everything you should need (we have a baby and a 4 year old). Bev was very thoughtful and rang to ask if we needed a high chair or stair gate and even left us a bottle of wine! It is decorated to a high standard with lovely bathrooms, soft towels, comfy beds and lots of space for coats and boots. The only negative was very noisy floorboards upstairs but this only affected us because of the children and of course it's an old property.
The situation is fantastic for walks and pubs, the garden is also great for the children. Thank you for having us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thanks for taking the time to review Ash Gill Cottage and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We are, however, sorry to hear that you found the upstairs floorboards noisy, with the property only 25 years old and the floorboards replaced when we refurbished in 2013, we are aware that they do make some noise, although not excessive and this is the first instance of guests openly reporting floorboard noise during their stay at Ash Gill. We just hope that it didn't spoil the enjoyment of your holiday.
We are glad that that you found the house comfortable and welcoming and describe it to be "one of the best" in the lakes that you have stayed in, we try our best to ensure our guests have the best facilities we can provide and it certainly helps having two excellent pubs within 150 yards of the doorstep and a plethora of walks to choose from.
We do hope to welcome you back to Ash Gill Cottage again at some point in the future.
Best regards,
Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How clean the house was
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of your stay at Ash Gill.
We strive to present the house in perfect condition and are glad you arrived to a spotlessly clean and welcoming house.
It is wonderful to learn that your children had a fantastic time and we look forward to welcoming you all back again in the future.
Kind regards,
Bev.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing