We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome”
Review of Lakeland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lakeland House
Ranked #1 of 15 Coniston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“A warm welcome”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stopped at Lakeland House as part of our (2 adults, 2 kids and a dog) walk along the Cumbrian Way in late May/early June this year (2013). We were soaked when we arrived but warmed up quickly by the welcome we received. We were greeted at the door and all our wet stuff (boots, leggings and coats) were taken off our hands to go away to be dried. The rooms were excellent, comfortable and warm, with a great shower en-suite. The food, including breakfast, also hit the spot. We'd definitely recommend Lakeland House!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandgrown_sue, Owner at Lakeland House, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking time to write such an excellent review of your stay. We are always ready to help dry outdoor wear to make the next day more comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you again and remind you that you can choose you favourite room and get the best value by booking directly with us. Also look out for our winter and early spring offers which we feel are exceptional value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    74
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
37
183
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just had an enjoyable 4 night stay at the Lakeland House hotel, could not fault it. We stayed in room 7, nicely decorated, comfortable, warm & spotlessly clean, comfy bed & beautiful newly fitted bathroom. Staff were warm & friendly, good choice of breakfast served in a delightful breakfast room. Perfect location close to some nice pubs & coffee houses (can recommend the food at the Black Bull, good choice of menu, well cooked & plenty of it). will definitely return to Lakeland House next time we visit Coniston.

Room Tip: Can recommend room 7, fantastic view of The Old Man of Coniston, lovely decor & a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne1tca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandgrown_sue, Owner at Lakeland House, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay. We are very pleased that you enjoyed Room 7, which is newly refurbished and we look forward to welcoming you again. Can we remind you that you can choose you favourite room and get the best value by booking directly with us. Also look out for our winter and early spring offers which we feel are exceptional value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Just had a fabulous 2 nights in Coniston staying at Lakeland House. Sue was a fabulous host. Nothing was too much trouble. Fab, smart rooms with wifi and a great cafe adjoining. Perfect location for the town, pubs, lake and hill walking. The sun shone throughout which is always a bonus. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandgrown_sue, Owner at Lakeland House, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for writing such a fabulous review of your stay. We are very pleased that you found the room and service excellent and we have passed on your comments to all the staff here at Lakeland House and also in our sister company Hollands Cafe. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future - if you would like to choose your favourite room and get the best value don't hesitate to give us a call. Pictures of all our rooms are on our new web site. We also offer great value winter and early spring offers if you book directly with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Building looked a little tired from outside and had we just seen this we probably wouldn't have stayed but that would have been a mistake, the interior of our room was modern and the room was clean.
After letting ourselves in we were warmly welcomed and given our room key.
We updated a chalk board the night before with exactly what we wanted for breakfast and the time we would be eating so breakfast was served promptly. The food was lovely and cooked as ordered.
There is no parking with the hotel although the picture does look like there is but that belongs to the pub next door. There is parking on the road but this was full when we arrived and not knowing the area we parked in the car park opposite, this was quite expensive and we had to move our car that evening onto the road outside the hotel or get up prior to 8am to get more parking. There was plenty of room in the road at the back of the hotel if you turn before The Crown Hotel the car park is camera operated so don't take any chances!
A good stay and we would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel011112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Staying the weekend at Lakeland House was a pleasure. The rooms were beautifully decorated and tastefully appointed, rather than some of the chitzy, faded, olde world style of other B and B's.. Big, comfortable bed and lovely showers and bathroom. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was well cooked and tasty. My only comment is that I would have liked an option of fruit and yogurt available. They is a place to dry your muddy walking boots and and lounge. Even free Wi fi is there. The rooms were really good value, we had a superior double and much better than others tried in Cumbria over the years. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 7 at the back was great and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus-n-Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I struggled with the rating of this property, swinging between 3 and 4. In the end I came down on the lower side for a couple of almost silly reasons.

This is the second time I have stayed here, so it must have been pretty good the first time when there is plenty of alternative accommodation around. The place is spotlessly clean, very stylish and comfortable, with some great views.

The views were part of the problem in a way. The owners obviously decided that guests had to see them. At the windows there were no curtains, just blinds. This meant that you had the blinds either down, blocking any natural light, or up giving absolutely NO privacy, especially for the rooms facing the main road and the pub car park.

The bathroom of the room we were in was fabulous, it really was. Obviously quite new and well appointed. Right down to the smoked glass mirror above the sink.

Have you ever tried shaving in a smoked glass mirror? Trust me it is next to impossible to get a good job done. As my partner commented, "Just as well I don't want to do any close up work".

The kettle in the room did not hold enough water to fill both the mugs.

All this might seem like nit-picking, and I suppose it is, but it all added up to take away from what otherwise would be a BRILLIANT b&b. The breakfast is terrific, the staff are not in your face and friendly enough, the location is superb..........

Just get these style things sorted!

Room Tip: To avoid baring all to the locals and the sheep, go for a room at the back. You only have the neigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, England
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We called in here by chance when travelling through Coniston (the coffee shop part not the B&B part). The place was immaculate, the waitress was very friendly and helpful, We ordered coffees and a smoothie - they were excellent. The sandwiches looked absolutely fantastic too. The café part is dog friendly too. Will definitely call back next time in Coniston.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy2925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
662 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#3 of 6 in Coniston
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
496 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crown Inn Coniston
Crown Inn Coniston
#5 of 15 in Coniston
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeland House

Property: Lakeland House
Address: Tilberthwaite Avenue, Coniston LA21 8ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeland House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully designed boutique style bed and breakfast guest accommodation in the heart of the English Lake District in the delightful village of Coniston. Coniston Water and the Old Man of Coniston are just a few minutes walk away. Rather than being a traditional Lake District hotel, all of our rooms are offered on a bed and breakfast (B&B) basis, with local amenities from shops to dining just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lakeland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland House Hotel Coniston
Lakeland House Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing