We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee in Coniston”
Review of Lakeland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeland House
Ranked #1 of 15 Coniston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

First and foremost, I have to say- This Guest house has a cafe attached to it. It serves the best coffee (Lavazza) and very nicely cooked meals. My hubby and I stayed at the Guest house few times over the past 10 years and witnessed the changes that the owner, Sue and her family made. The accommodations are superb, this time we stayed at room number 7 which had been decorated to a high level of finish. I stayed at 4 stars hotels in the UK that were not as nice as this room. There was a choice of breakfasts we could have and we were served Full English and Vegetarian Breakfasts, cooked to perfection. Mushrooms, beans, tomato, hush, deep fried bread (no extra fat on the plate!), 2 vegetarian sausages/ locally made, Lakeland House speciality sausage. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irashadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

As a party of geologists we stayed 15-16th November. The room was very clean and comfortable with a great shower. The breakfast was excellent, non greasy, decent sized full English with lovely coffee. I've been to Coniston for years and this accomnodation is the best i've found and i'd highly recommend it. Great value- thanks!!!!

Room Tip: Room 7 had a great shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Nice clean and tidy rooms with very good breakfast.

Very lovely ambiance and friendly staff.

Location of this restaurant is close to Coniston waters and with nice views outside from hotel room.

You get all the necessary information and special vouchers for Coniston boat trips etc..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRINIVAS_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here for a two night break, for us to walk The "Old Man of Coniston"Booked the budget double room which was fine for a short stay , clean and comfortable and excellent value for The Lake District! breakfast was good and nice being in the centre of Coniston,choice of eateries nearby chipshop in town is worth a try! pubs also nearby.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Miche' D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is our first report on Trip Adviser but felt it necessary to say how lucky we are to find a B & B of this quality and in the centre of Coniston too. We feel Sue and her staff deserve a mention on the outstanding, friendly and thoughtful service we received throughout our stay. We were upgraded to a newly reburbished king size superior room, with high quality fixtures and fittings which was spotlessly clean and comfortable. We can't think of anything more you could ask for, good value for money, perfect location, fabulous rooms, great choice of breakfast and a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stopped at Lakeland House as part of our (2 adults, 2 kids and a dog) walk along the Cumbrian Way in late May/early June this year (2013). We were soaked when we arrived but warmed up quickly by the welcome we received. We were greeted at the door and all our wet stuff (boots, leggings and coats) were taken off our hands to go away to be dried. The rooms were excellent, comfortable and warm, with a great shower en-suite. The food, including breakfast, also hit the spot. We'd definitely recommend Lakeland House!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandgrown_sue, Owner at Lakeland House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking time to write such an excellent review of your stay. We are always ready to help dry outdoor wear to make the next day more comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you again and remind you that you can choose you favourite room and get the best value by booking directly with us. Also look out for our winter and early spring offers which we feel are exceptional value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just had an enjoyable 4 night stay at the Lakeland House hotel, could not fault it. We stayed in room 7, nicely decorated, comfortable, warm & spotlessly clean, comfy bed & beautiful newly fitted bathroom. Staff were warm & friendly, good choice of breakfast served in a delightful breakfast room. Perfect location close to some nice pubs & coffee houses (can recommend the food at the Black Bull, good choice of menu, well cooked & plenty of it). will definitely return to Lakeland House next time we visit Coniston.

Room Tip: Can recommend room 7, fantastic view of The Old Man of Coniston, lovely decor & a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne1tca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandgrown_sue, Owner at Lakeland House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay. We are very pleased that you enjoyed Room 7, which is newly refurbished and we look forward to welcoming you again. Can we remind you that you can choose you favourite room and get the best value by booking directly with us. Also look out for our winter and early spring offers which we feel are exceptional value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#3 of 6 in Coniston
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#2 of 6 in Coniston
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,232 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
513 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crown Inn Coniston
Crown Inn Coniston
#5 of 15 in Coniston
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeland House

Address: Tilberthwaite Avenue, Coniston LA21 8ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Coniston
Price Range: £89 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeland House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully designed boutique style bed and breakfast guest accommodation in the heart of the English Lake District in the delightful village of Coniston. Coniston Water and the Old Man of Coniston are just a few minutes walk away. Rather than being a traditional Lake District hotel, all of our rooms are offered on a bed and breakfast (B&B) basis, with local amenities from shops to dining just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lakeland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland House Hotel Coniston
Lakeland House Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing