We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem x”
Review of Yew Tree Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coniston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yew Tree Farm
Ranked #11 of 15 Coniston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2011

If your looking for a modern boring run of the mill hotel then this is not the place for you. Where do i start hmm words to describe Yew Tree Farm - lovely,warm,welcoming,clean, cosy and yes fascinating. We only got chance to stay one night in the smallest room but wow i was really supprised it was really nice and comfy and really felt liked we had stepped back in time. I love this place and cant wait to go back and stay longer. Had the best nights sleep ive had in a long time and a wonderfull tasty breakfast. Me and my partner were made to feel very welcome and would highly recomend checking this place out. Seeing the little ducklings on arrival was the cherry on the cake. Love the dark wood and grandfather clock. X

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenjames77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Yew Tree Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

We chose this B&B based on a idyllic National Trust photo and found internally and externally it delivered on the photo's promises: the location is stunning, the interior is picture perfect (even for my wife, who normally doesn't appreciate period decorations), and it's very cozy and comfortable with all the mod cons in the bathroom (an amazing shower). The hosts were very accommodating and offer some nice touches, such as helping yourself to a glass of port while relaxing in the lounge, soaking in a hot tub in a private garden, etc., creating a home-away-from home atmosphere. If you get a chance, buy their beef as it turned out to be the best we had ever tasted.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo_Haque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

It was a wonderful experience to stay with Caroline and Jon and their family - children and animals. Their home was very welcoming with delicious breakfasts as well as arrival cakes etc. The rooms were so different - just like stepping back in time but with all the modern conveniences required. Great walks around the area too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zorro16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineWatson, Manager at Yew Tree Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

I am very grateful that you have taken the time to make such helpful comments. Thanks Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This home was used on the set of the movie Miss Potter and was in fact formerly owned by Beatrix Potter. It is a luxury bed and breakfast set on a working farm. The gorgeous breakfast was made from locally produced items - the ham and bacon from the farms own pigs, the eggs from the hens there etc. The rooms were luxuriously appointed including bath robes, thick towels, gorgeous bathroom products (locally produced). The house itself is a grade 2 National Trust property built in the 17th and 18th centuries
There are a number of walks that can be made from the farm it selt and more are just a short drive away. The hosts were willing to make recommendations as to where to go and where to eat at night.

Room Tip: there are only 3 rooms and each are well described
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozzypip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineWatson, Manager at Yew Tree Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

The Yew Tree team are so grateful for your lovely comments, Thank you. Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

For any Beatrix Potter fan Yew Tree Farm allows you to soak up the character of her era. As noted by others the farm was a stand in for Hill Top Farm in the 'Miss Potter' film. It was owned by Beatrix at one pont and some of the furnishings are hers. Your host Caroline does a superb job with breakfast, helpful advice, and making you feel welcome. Our room with 4 poster bed and modern bathroom was perfect. Wandering around the farm to see all the animals including the 'Beltie' cows is fascinating. The mountain scenery behind the farm is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davemarylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineWatson, Manager at Yew Tree Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay, thanks so much for the comment. Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

My husband, Drew and I were inspired to stay at Yew Tree Farm after seeing it featured on the ITV 'Countrywise Kitchen' programme which focussed on their Hogget Lamb and Mutton. My husband, being a keen lamb fan and I, loving the idea of rural life, thought it would make a great break away. That, combined with the fascinating history of the property being one of the farms from Beatrix Potter's estate, which she bequeathed to the National Trust in her will and the fact that the farm featured in the Miss Potter movie all added to the intrigue of the place. We weren't disappointed.

Set in the most beautiful valley with a little stream adjacent to the property certainly framed the house wonderfully. The addition of the chickens, a sheep and her lamb residing on the front lawn, to which we overlooked from our bedroom, also gave it a most authentic feel. Which it is, of course, being a working farm with Belted Galloway cows graising within earshot and Hogget lambs reared for the associated business called Heritage meats which operates from the farm. There are also pigs, ducks, sheep dogs and a couple of turkeys. The male one seemed to either be attracted or repelled by Drew as he constantly flared his feathers and warbled loudly whenever he was in the vicinity. Very amusing.

Caroline and John, who run the farm and bed and breakfast are a lovely couple and managed to provide accommodation which is bathed in history combined with modern day comforts. The service was friendly and unobtrusive. An excellent combination of being close at hand but still gave the feeling that you had the farmhouse to yourself. Every morning, the breakfast table was set with white linen, silver cutlery and fresh flowers from the garden. It was just beautiful sitting overlooking the garden, hearing the birds chirping, cows mooing and the gentle crackle of the log fire in the hearth. This was accompanied by the most magnificent full English breakfast comprising of high quality produce and washed down by a nice pot of tea. We were also blessed with the most wonderful weather and found ourselved bathed in sunlight as we ate our breakfast at a leisurely pace.

We really enjoyed our stay and I slept better than I have done for a long time: combination of an excellent mattress on the four poster bed, the peaceful ambience of the house and location. We even managed to make use of the hot tub despite the early time of the year. Finally, after a long day, it was nice to return to the lounge where a roaring fire awaited along with a ship's decanter of complitentary port - lovely. I already have a friend to intends to visit over the next few weeks - availability permitting. So, if you are interested in historic properties, like peaceful quality accommodation in a rural setting then a visit to Yew Tree Farm must be on your 'bucket list'. Just don't do it too often - we want to return!!!

Room Tip: Quirky, quaint, quality
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishtraveller099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineWatson, Manager at Yew Tree Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

Well what can I say I am delighted with your comments and so grateful to you for taking so much time to do this. We would all love to see you both again. Best Wishes
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We so anticipated staying here as my wife and sister-in-law were all about the Beatrix Potter environment. This is an old farm home with some old furnishing. We had some nice conversations with Jon, Caroline and Robin. The breakfasts were perfect and the port in the study room was kind to us. We had many highlights during this two week stay in the UK and this was right at the top of that highlight list. Take time to walk around the area more than we did, it is great for hiking.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petersonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coniston hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#2 of 6 in Coniston
674 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#1 of 6 in Coniston
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lakeland House
Lakeland House
#1 of 15 in Coniston
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crown Inn Coniston
Crown Inn Coniston
#5 of 15 in Coniston
374 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wheelgate Bed & Breakfast
Wheelgate Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 15 in Coniston
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yew Tree Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Tree Farm

Address: Yew Tree Farm A590, Coniston LA21 8DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Coniston
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by Beatrix Potter and used as Hill top in the film 'Miss Potter' Yew Tree offers a unique place to stay. We offer luxurious historic guest accommodation in the Farm house, you can take a break from the modern world and step back in time. Our guest quarters have been exquisitely refurbished working with all the original features we have interior designed in period style giving the house exceptional character and a friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yew Tree Farm Hotel Coniston
Yew Tree Farm Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing