We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous B & B”
Review of Yew Tree Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coniston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yew Tree Farm
Ranked #11 of 15 Coniston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 September 2011

What can I can apart from 'absolutely fabulous', an absolute dream of a place to stay and we cannot wait to return. My husband and I stayed for a week and we loved every moment of it, down to the wonderfully prepared breakfast, the afternoon cakes and the glass of port in the evening with a roaring log fire. We have stayed in many B & B's over the years but this is 'top trumphs' even though the weather did not quite behave that could not put a damper on our wonderful week at Yew Tree Farm - well done Caroline & Jon and thank you for such a fantastic week.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineWatson, Manager at Yew Tree Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

I am so thrilled by your lovely comments, we take a great pride in trying make everyone's stay enjoyable and this makes it all worth while. Thank you. Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

Staying here was a real pleasure and one we look forward to repeating. It is so nice to see a small business which lives up to its PR and in reality probably exceeds it. As for the meat we took home - well dreams are made of this quality, taste and animal welfare. Thank you.

Room Tip: The rain shower was powerful enough to massage those muscles after a good walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBADRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineWatson, Manager at Yew Tree Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

I am really heartened by your comments and very grateful for the time taken. Big Thanks Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

As an avid Beatrix Potter fan my husabd had arranged this trip as a birthday surprise, on arrival the cottage didnt disappoint, even though there were plastic children toys in view which spoilt the abience. The cottage was as if you were stepping back in time and the fire in the lounge was welcoming. The cottage is well sited for local walks. All was well, until we retired for the evening - in the early hours we were woken by scratching coming from the wall cavities, this continued all night, so despite having a lovely four poster bed, we didnt sleep a wink. On reporting this the next morning we were really flabagasted that were charged for a sleepless night.. A little too authentic with the mice!! Thiswasnt advertised in the brochure! We continued the rest of our holiday at the wonderful Gilpin Lodge without the extra company.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank potterage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineWatson, Owner at Yew Tree Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

We are very sorry for your disrupted stay, sadly very occasionally our very unhelpful little friends do get past our many preventative measures and scratch in the walls. I am also very sorry that you felt you had been overcharged, from memory I think we reduced the bad nights stay down to just cover costs and waived the remaining balance of a three night stay. I now appreciate you felt you had not enjoyed any of your experience at Yew tree. Following your departure we closed off the room and set traps all over the house to no avail and thankfully we have had no such reports since.
I do hope that you may try again in the future and that we can make it up to you but do please bear in mind that Farmhouses by their nature do carry a risk of being ' rustic'!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed at this B&B for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was a very old house and old room with some "mod cons" being a new bathroom. No TV meant we sat around the fire at night reading. Did some great walks with the guidance of the owners.

So different to the other places we stayed but we loved the uniqueness of this place.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidaybuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineWatson, Manager at Yew Tree Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

We are so grateful for your comments and love that you mentioned quirky, we understand the accommodation is not for everyone as it is old, historic, rustic based on a farm, but we love it and thoroughly enjoy sharing it with like minded guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Just returned from our trip to the UK and a most enjoyable stay at the Yew Tree Farm. What a unique B&B. We had a very comfortable and spacious room loaded with character. You felt like you had stepped back in time. There's a lovely lounge on the main floor with a fire going most afternoons, along with some complimentary port to enjoy. Lots of good reading material related to the area and to the history of Beatrix Potter and her connection with the house. Great breakfasts each morning in their lovely breakfast room. An interesting place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

If your looking for a modern boring run of the mill hotel then this is not the place for you. Where do i start hmm words to describe Yew Tree Farm - lovely,warm,welcoming,clean, cosy and yes fascinating. We only got chance to stay one night in the smallest room but wow i was really supprised it was really nice and comfy and really felt liked we had stepped back in time. I love this place and cant wait to go back and stay longer. Had the best nights sleep ive had in a long time and a wonderfull tasty breakfast. Me and my partner were made to feel very welcome and would highly recomend checking this place out. Seeing the little ducklings on arrival was the cherry on the cake. Love the dark wood and grandfather clock. X

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenjames77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We chose this B&B based on a idyllic National Trust photo and found internally and externally it delivered on the photo's promises: the location is stunning, the interior is picture perfect (even for my wife, who normally doesn't appreciate period decorations), and it's very cozy and comfortable with all the mod cons in the bathroom (an amazing shower). The hosts were very accommodating and offer some nice touches, such as helping yourself to a glass of port while relaxing in the lounge, soaking in a hot tub in a private garden, etc., creating a home-away-from home atmosphere. If you get a chance, buy their beef as it turned out to be the best we had ever tasted.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo_Haque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coniston hotels
0.4 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#1 of 6 in Coniston
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.7 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#2 of 6 in Coniston
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crown Inn Coniston
Crown Inn Coniston
#5 of 15 in Coniston
384 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wheelgate Bed & Breakfast
Wheelgate Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 15 in Coniston
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakeland House
Lakeland House
#1 of 15 in Coniston
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yew Tree Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Tree Farm

Address: Yew Tree Farm A590, Coniston LA21 8DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Coniston
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by Beatrix Potter and used as Hill top in the film 'Miss Potter' Yew Tree offers a unique place to stay. We offer luxurious historic guest accommodation in the Farm house, you can take a break from the modern world and step back in time. Our guest quarters have been exquisitely refurbished working with all the original features we have interior designed in period style giving the house exceptional character and a friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yew Tree Farm Hotel Coniston
Yew Tree Farm Coniston, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing