We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great choice....home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Puddleduck House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Puddleduck House
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Puddleduck House
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Room
It's going to be another Sunny Day! (Promise!)
Bedroom 2 or Family Room - Can be two singles
Bedroom 2 or Family Room (can be two singles)
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2 (Can be Super King or 2 x Single Beds)
Bedroom 3
En-Suite to Bedroom 3
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Garage - Lots of Room for cars and bikes etc..
Puddleduck House!
Beautiful Coniston Water
Coniston Lakeside and the Bluebird Cafe
Meandering Down to Coniston Water
Coniston Boating Centre
Coniston Boating Centre
Views from Puddleduck Garden
Boating on the Lake
Glorious Walks Everywhere!
Local Walks
From the End of Ruskin Avenue (Our Street)
Along the Waters Edge, Coniston
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MaryLiz62
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great choice....home from home”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Really enjoyed our stay at Puddleduck...the house was really cosy and homely with many personal touches and had everything we needed. The kitchen had so many extras you don't usually find in a holiday let and we particularly liked having the slow cooker....I had actually thought about taking my own if we had room! Bedrooms are spacious and airy and the beds really comfortable. The house flows really nicely going from the lounge into the dining area which has a really good size table..and then into the kitchen. The only thing which was not as I imagined was that the garden area is not actually attached to the house..it is through the garage which is across a back alley....this is just for info rather than a criticism. There is also a small hard area directly outside the backdoor with a small table and chairs which gets the sun in the afternoon/evening. Also for info and again not a criticism, the stairs are rather steep which was a bit challenging at the end of a long day's walking! There is a clothes line in the garden which was useful. if you haven't decided how to spend your time, there are loads of books and maps to help you plan. We parked the car in the street and always found space outside the house. Coniston is a lovely village with pubs and restaurants within a couple of minutes walk. We particularly enjoyed the Steam Bistro and Sarah's Indian. The newsagents opens at 6.45am if you want an early stroll to get your paper! There is a coop which sells everything you need and also a butchers in one of the shops. Coniston Lake is beautiful and a short walk from Puddleduck. All in all a great week and we were glad we chose both the location and Puddleduck......highly recommend and we are very likely to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home feel
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful comfortable well equipped and clean cottage”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just arrived home from a week in puddleduck house, we thoroughly enjoyed the stay, a couple of friends joined us for a few days and were amazed at the property.
It is centrally placed in coniston very near 3 lovely pubs, there is a restaurant within a 5 minute walk which has a great reputation but was closed so we were disappointed, the bus is a short walk for buses to Hawkshead, Ambleside and Windermere the drivers are very helpful and friendly. The whole village was friendly and helpful, the cottage itself is very comfortable and beautifully decorated, I was still finding lovely little ornaments I had missed at the end of the week the beds were very comfortable and there is a garage, we put the car in the garage and it didn't come out till we left, we had some lovely days out, the kitchen is extremely well equipped I never needed a thing, the owner Chloe was very helpful and kept in touch before we arrived and was available when we were there had we needed. The wi fi was very reliable, the dog loved it as well . Thanks Chloe we will definitely be back .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smartie22...
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely House in Coniston”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My partner and I along with our dog Lucy stayed here for a week to celebrate our anniversary.
We had a lovely time, the house felt like home from home, very spacious and comfortable.
It was an ideal location in the heart of Coniston and a great base for many fabulous walks with great views.
As we like cooking, we found the kitchen to be very well equipped.
I must say the bed was very comfortable too.
Brilliant broadband connection.

It was great we could take the dog with us as she is part of the family, the only downside was we couldn't just let her out the back door into a garden only a yard.

Visited the local chippy after a long walk and I would definitely recommend, the fish and chips were delicious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Janet...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely village, lovely house”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned from a lovely holiday and would highly recommend this property. The house is very well equipped and spacious but has a very homely feel to it with nice little extra's. Set in lovely village with pubs, shops and beautiful views of the mountain. Would certainly stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your review! I'm so pleased you had a lovely stay in Puddleduck House and I look forward to hearing from you again one day :) Chloe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alig1978
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good value house in the heart of Coniston”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our week here. The house is like a tardis - it looks quite narrow from the outside but is very spacious inside. The house is tastefully decorated and is well equipped - especially the kitchen. We liked the options for a double/twin beds in one of the bedrooms.

Parking is a welcome bonus and the garden a treat in good weather. Indeed, we cancelled a meal out one evening to take advantage of the evening sun and eat al fresco.

Coniston itself is charming and made a perfect base. I'd not stayed towards the west of the Lakes before and liked its remoteness. Indeed, when driving back home through Windermere which was busy I was so glad we picked Coniston.

The owners appear to have made real effort with Puddleduck House and to ensure you have everything for an enjoyable stay. I look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your review! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your lovely comments on the house. I'm glad you loved Coniston - you're right, it's a lot quieter than Windermere and all the more pleasurable for it, in my opinion anyway! I look forward to welcoming you again one day. Chloe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike W
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable house in Coniston”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A spacious terraced house in a quiet street near the centre of Coniston. Close to all the amenities - four pubs and supermarkets seemed to cover most eventualities and there was a fairly new Indian restaurant that we also tried. The visitor info centre was at the end of the road. Three double bedrooms, the smallest having an en-suite (rather tight) and a large bathroom with bath and shower. Good size lounge will seat six, dining also with plenty of room (although the five of us didn't use it) and a kitchen with all utensils you would want. Nice garden and fairly easy parking either on the road outside or round the side of the terrace, which is where you can also reach the garage. Good base for exploring the Lakes during the day and decent food in both the Black Bull and the Crown (didn't try the Sun or Yewdale Hotel for food) if you don't want to cook. Beers from local breweries available in all pubs if real ale is your thing. All in all a good three-night stay (our friends were staying the full week).

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Spaciouness
Liked least: Nothing bad
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoyed your stay - we'd love to have you to stay again one day :) Chloe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolfy1957...
1 review
“Awesome puddleduck”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Puddleduck is a lovely house in a beautiful town with a few nice shops and pubs and places to eat within minutes walking ...... it has everything you need in the house big fridge washing machine and dryer dishwasher ......and the people who next door are very nice as well and at night it is very peaceful just the chimes of the church bell making alittle noise in the distance ..... puddledock is awesome

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review! So glad you had an awesome time! We are biased, but Coniston is such a lovely central location and as you say, plenty to eat and drink in the village :) Many thanks again and hope to see you again one day. Chloe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing