We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable with superb views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Valley Vegetarian Restaurant - CLOSED

Green Valley Vegetarian Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$37
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, View, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable with superb views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Beautiful surroundings, great walks and climbs, friendly and efficient staff. The hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast menu was interesting and dinner menu was extensive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    18
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gourmet food in wonderful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I was lucky enough to eat at Lancrigg a couple of weeks ago.
I'm local, non-veggie and was catching up with friends. I can only say I wish more people knew that non-residents can eat in this restaurant, the foods was sublime, and my far the best meal I've had eating out in a long time.
The lounge and dining room are incredible, wonderful décor and lighting, which create a friendly, warm atmosphere, I didn't want to leave. My goats cheese starter disappeared very quickly, and by the end of my main I was stuffed, I somehow managed to make room for an incredible rhubarb brulee.
Many restaurants in the Lake District charge a premium for very average food, and rely on one-off tourist business for trade. Good homemade food at normal prices is difficult to find, I found it here at Lancrigg. Very highly recommended, and even if you're not staying here - eat here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“gourmet veggie genius”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

a charming dining room, a warm service and stunning food generously proportioned to fill my 6'3'' frame!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jretaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Vegetarian food with a view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Lake District as a whole is quite a tricky place to find decent places to eat as a vegetarian, this makes those places that you do come across all the more inviting.

This is a good vegetarian restaurant in a good setting with amazing views. You will need a car to get there though, unless you decide to stay at the hotel.The menu is interesting and the range of wines and beers is better than most. We enjoyed the vegan 'fish & chips' but were disappointed with the size and quality of the pizza.

Overall we would recommend the restaurant to anyone staying in the Lake District.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmaMark_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

A wonderful selection of fresh and extremely tasty food that tantalises the tastebuds. Due to gallstones I can't eat most items on restaurant menus, and normally can only eat one thing - i.e. salad.Here I could eat virtually everything, completely spoilt for choice, and you can tell it's great, locally grown ingredients because they are so intense with flavour. Amazing, Thanks so much!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Valley Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing