We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavours! What flavours ?”
Review of The Lamb Inn - CLOSED

The Lamb Inn
Price range: US$7 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our traditional village pub, the Lamb Inn, the only one in Grasmere Village places a strong emphasis on locally sourced produce for pub food too. The bar is well stocked with many names you'll recognise - making it one of the best real ale pubs too! Real Ales include: Hawkshead Bitter, Hawkshead Red, Hawkshead Windermere Pale, Jennings Cumberland Ale, EPA, Black Sheep, Dent and Golden Sheep. Pub Food: The Lamb Inn serves some of the finest pub food in the Lake District, with something to tempt all appetites. Enjoy a combination of locally sourced hearty traditional pub main course classics to lighter snacks and delicious homemade afternoon teas.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Flavours! What flavours ?”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Great local ales. Better than average wines for this sort of business. Friendly efficienct staff. The food is commercial tat, low in quality high in profit margin. Go for drinks and eat crisps.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shropshireadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    79
    75
    42
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Avoid the Bar Food !!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The bar food was not good. It was expensive for pre prepared food. The service was dire on the night we ate. It was not very busy but we (along with other tables) waited for over an hour for our food. The beef in the Yorkshire pudding was tough and the staff complacent. I asked to see the Manager but after 30 minutes he had not appeared so we left. Grasmere could d with a pub like facility offering honest home cooked food. Sadley The Red Lion did not make the grade. There are plenty of other eateries offering real food so avoid is my best advice. If you want a real ale Tweedies is your best bet.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food and drink.”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Really enjoyed everything about my meal. Service was friendly, the food was very tasty and good selection of local ale. When I was there it was full of locals eating. This is a dog friendly establishment.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very pleasant!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Was in Grasmere for the day and was trying to find a local pub for a snack and a drink. Found this place was nicely decorated for Halloween. Good service, good food at reasonable prices. Will go back next time we are in Grasmere.

Helpful?
Thank Leonard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If You want authentic 'Lake District' don't come here : (”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This place is a sad example of a local pub that has tried to go modern. It's a real shame. We stayed at the Daffodil Spa round the corner and were really looking forward to a good 'Lakes' pub lunch. We found nothing of the sort in Grasmere at all. The Lamb is neither nothing nor something , the food (which we did try) was disappointing. I have no idea what is going on with the proprietors and what image they are trying to create. When I come to Grasmere I want comfortable,; I want real fires; I want to feel snug and warm and safe with a pint of real ale and eat great food, so, we won't be going back.
Lamb you need to get a grip - sorry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lamb Inn also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing