We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful B&B in the Lake District”
Review of Silver Lea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silver Lea
Ranked #12 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A wonderful B&B in the Lake District”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I were hiking coast to coast and arrived soaking wet...we were taken care of upon arrival and were shown a large room with separate sitting area and large bath...the largest room of any on our trip.

Hosts are unobtrusive yet able to help when needed. The B&B is immaculately clean, with wonderful views. Nice breakfast, too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMC425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverlea, Owner at Silver Lea, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Good to know you enjoyed your stay.Hope the rest of the trip went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was our first visit. We stayed two nights and had a lovely room with separate sitting area. The room was clean and comfortable - with plenty of windows for light and fresh air. The owners are delightful and nothing is too much trouble. Lovely breakfasts. We will certainly return

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverlea, Owner at Silver Lea, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We enjoyed your company, glad you had a good time and look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Two of us plus our adult daughter have just spent two very comfortable nights in this perfectly situated B and B. Grasmere is a delightful little village in the Lake District, full of character and beauty yet not too touristy like other larger centres. We enjoyed the convenience of being able to walk into the fells from the house or into the little village for dinner as well as to sites such as Wordsworth's Dove Cottage,without using our car. For us, it was a peaceful break after a busy travelling schedule. Jill was a perfect hostess, offering us advice on a local walk to ease us into our first visit to the Lakes, and providing us with a lovely breakfast each morning (including good coffee!). We had booked two rooms, a single and double, and were very pleased with both. My husband and I were delighted with the suite, very comfortable with a lovely view and the room included a little sitting room - plenty of room for the three of us to gather and chat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamuanddemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverlea, Owner at Silver Lea, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for this review. We enjoyed your company and enthusiasm. A good breakfast and comfortable rooms are what we aim at. Having a chat at breakfast is always a bonus for me. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We wanted to try something a bit different to a normal hotel as this was our first time in the Lakes. We also wanted to escape from the typical tourist destinations like Windermere. Silver Lea was perfect. Upon arrival we were greeted by Jill, who showed us the room and the view it came with. The bed was large and comfy (I never sleep well away from home, but slept like a log while we were here) and having a separate 'living room' meant I could read while my partner when to bed.

Breakfast was delicious, and while Jill was friendly and accommodating, she wasn't overbearing, knowing exactly how much each guest wanted to talk (sometimes in Guest Houses I've felt a little intimidated by the owners when they want to talk to you all the time, which is clearly what some people get out of this type of accommodation, personally I like ten minutes of a chat and then to be left to enjoy my holiday). When we did ask questions she and Bill were very knowledgeable of the area and suggested great walks for beginners like us, with waterfalls and Red Squirrel spotting within ten minutes of the door.

A great place for anybody who is experiencing the lakes for the first time, or just wants somewhere more relaxing than your average weekend. We felt completely welcomed and relaxed, and will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverlea, Owner at Silver Lea, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Comfy bed and good breakfast is so important.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here over Easter weekend. It's a beautiful cottage, up a nice, quiet road away from the hustle and bustle of the village centre, but still close enough to walk to the pub in the evening.

Our room was cosy, clean and warm, which was a welcome relief after a day on the snowy fells. Jill, the owner, was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful, and prepared to your liking.

We hope we get the chance to visit again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank confused_sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverlea, Owner at Silver Lea, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed here in June whilst walking the C2C. Jill and Bill were very welcoming and couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable. Our room had a lovely outlook over the mountains and the B&B was situated in a quiet part of Grasmere not far from the centre of town. Breakfast was hearty and enough to see us through until lunch. Would thoroughly recommend that you stay in Silver Lea if you are looking for a comfortable stay when visiting Grasmere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

this is our 3rd visit and we are never disappointed. rooms are very comfortable, Bill and Gill are so welcoming and helpful and the breakfasts are brilliant, cant wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl25Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
711 reviews
1.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Lea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Lea

Property: Silver Lea
Address: Silver Lea Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Lea is a traditional detached Lakeland house situated in a quiet location within easy walking distance of Grasmere village (300m). Our rooms are all spacious and comfortable with excellent views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silver Lea Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing