We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable stop on C2C”
Review of Silver Lea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silver Lea
Ranked #12 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stop on C2C”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed overnight on C2C walk in June 2014 lovely, friendly and helpful land lady. This is an immaculately well kept and cared for BnB and will cater for overnighters at weekends, much better quality than many other BnBs in Lakeland that still want 2 night stays at weekend and add that Lakeland premium because of location. I would recommend strongly Silver Lea and would certainly stay here again when visiting the Lakes..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverlea, Owner at Silver Lea, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As walkers we do understand how important it is to be able to relax in a chair with a mug of tea at the end of a great walk. Hope you enjoy the whole Coast to Coast experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here on the coast to coast walk. Very friendly reception
Lovely quiet room which had obviously recently been refurbished.
There was a good shower. The breakfast was very good. Would stay again for a weekend in the lakes

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tearoomwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverlea, Owner at Silver Lea, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Each year the Coast to Coast walk grows in popularity and we meet people from all round the world who take on this challenge. It is good to know that you were comfortable, so important after a day in the hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CUMBRIA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This B&B has made such a treasured impression on us.

The rooms are of a very high standard, spacious and clean, and lovely white bed linen and towels are provided. It is light and airy, and uncluttered, creating a very relaxed atmosphere.

The accommodation is at least as good, and better than many hotel rooms.

There is a very homely feel to the whole place.

We had a suite which has a separate lounge area, and especially liked the double aspect windows. Ideal for coming back to after a long walking expedition and resting those tired legs!

The owners Jill and Bill have extensive local knowledge and are happy to help with weather forecasts and recommended walking routes.

An excellent base for exploring the surrounding beautiful landscape. Easy access to Helm Crag and Gibson Knott, Easedale tarn, and the neighbouring two picturesque valleys of Far Easedale and Greenburn.

We also suggest a walk to Silver How from Grasmere, as a spectacular viewpoint on a sunny, clear day.

The satisfying hearty cooked breakfast always set us up for a good day's 'Lakeland' adventure!

Thank you for a truly peaceful and leisurely break.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KATHARINE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverlea, Owner at Silver Lea, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for this lovely review. Glad you had a relaxing break and felt comfortable. Look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Excellent in all aspects, location, breakfast and rooms. We were made to feel welcome for the duration of our stay. Loved it! Thank you Jill and Bill we will definitely be back soon. Rachel and Neal. Wakefield.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rthewlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverlea, Owner at Silver Lea, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Clean, comfortable, and well located for a choice of places to eat in Grasmere ( our favourite is the Jumble Room) we found Silver Lea to be a slightly old fashioned B&B but more than adequate for our over night stop on the Coast to Coast walk. Our hosts were friendly. Our rear facing room had a view of the valley up to Grisedale Hause - the next section of the walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee-and-Tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverlea, Owner at Silver Lea, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. After a busy season we are now planning this years priorities, so any suggestions are welcome. Our traditional cottage home has quiet, spacious room, comfortable chairs and beds. A good nights sleep and a delicious breakfast are so important. Now where is that paint brush?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent two nights last weekend at this lovely B & B. The traffic on the way up was horrendous (M6 Friday night what did we expect), but when we phoned Jill was lovely telling me it was more important that we arrived safely rather than at what time we arrived. As it was dark when we arrived what a lovely surprise we had when we opened the curtains the next morning "stunning views". The room was clean and comfortable, we loved the separate sitting room. Breakfast was excellent with tops ups of toast and drinks if needed. Great B & B which we will definitely return to (but not on a Friday night).

Room Tip: From what we could see all the rooms had lovely views and were all equally comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragon_marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverlea, Owner at Silver Lea, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again, on any night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I were hiking coast to coast and arrived soaking wet...we were taken care of upon arrival and were shown a large room with separate sitting area and large bath...the largest room of any on our trip.

Hosts are unobtrusive yet able to help when needed. The B&B is immaculately clean, with wonderful views. Nice breakfast, too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMC425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverlea, Owner at Silver Lea, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Good to know you enjoyed your stay.Hope the rest of the trip went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Lea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Lea

Property: Silver Lea
Address: Silver Lea Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Lea is a traditional detached Lakeland house situated in a quiet location within easy walking distance of Grasmere village (300m). Our rooms are all spacious and comfortable with excellent views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silver Lea Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing