We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A comfortable and convenient holiday rental”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Grasmere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MacTravel...
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A comfortable and convenient holiday rental”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We loved this property right in the centre of Grasmere. We loved that it was upside down ie bedrooms on the ground floor and kitchen/diner and living room upstairs to enjoy the views and bay window. It was very clean and comfortable with beautiful bed linens and a homely feel throughout. The fact that there is no outside seating area matters little with a pub garden next door and lovely walks originating in the village itself. Might be more of an issue with children. Only one car parking permit so we also had to pay £30 for a second car for the week. We also had a third car but managed to alternate and also find places without double yellow lines further out of centre. We were there to attend a wedding at the Daffodil Hotel so it was a perfect place for us as we could walk there and back. We had a few minor issues in the property but they wouldn't prevent us booking again. We found the fridge too cold (our vegetables froze!) the oven temperature not at all clear, the downstairs loo flush inadequate and no working lock on the bathroom door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: the loo flush and no lock on bathroom door
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Rowan Cottage, Grasmere.

We are delighted you enjoyed the location of the property and the layout of the property was suitable for your needs.

Thank you for your comments regarding the oven and fridge. We will forward this to our Windermere office, who manage the property to bring these comments to their attention.

We are delighted to learn you would return to Rowan Cottage and Lakes Cottage Holidays look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochaber
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Mar 2014
Thank you for your review of Rowan Cottage

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found this property warm and cosy. We hope that we can welcome you back to Rowan Cottage again in the future.

Kind Regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
Tel 017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicestershire
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool
Reviewed 19 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
stoke on trent
Reviewed 21 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amble Northumberland
Reviewed 24 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Oct 2012
Thank you for your review on this property.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at this property and for any issues you had during your stay.

We do advise guests to contact the office as soon as possible with regards to any problems or issues you may have on your arrival or during your stay. Had we been made aware of your concerns we would have acted immediately to ensure that your stay was made as comfortable and pleasurable as possible.

The design of "upside down" properties is mainly to take advantage of the scenery/views from the upstairs rooms. We are sorry to hear that this was not to your liking.

We are, unfortunately, unable to do anything about any traffic issues you may have had. This property is located away from the centre of Grasmere which should limit any passing traffic noise or disturbance.

We hope that the issues you raised above did not detract from your enjoyment of the Lake District and we hope to welcome you back to one of our properties in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amble Northumberland
Reviewed 24 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing