We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Characterful cottage in great location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Grasmere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Rowan cottage and we're rather disappointed with some aspects. The details online are not clear . The cottage that comes up as the main photo isn't Rowan cottage.There is a photo of it in the gallery but why do you need to see a different cottage at all?
The downstairs ensuite shower room doesn't have a toilet. As we had chosen this because we were travelling with an elderly relative that was a problem. Again i think the details should have pointed that out.
The ensuite also smelled very badly of damp and we spent all weekend trying to get rid of the smell as the smell continued into the bedroom.
The cooker has replacement knobs so you can't tell what temperature it's set at.
Could be lovely just needs a bit of attention . Expected better for what we paid.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Rowan Cottage. We are disappointed to read that you had some issues with the property. We would always mention in the property details exactly what is included and there is no mention of a WC in the ensuite shower room on our website. We do have an option on our website to search for properties suitable for people with limited mobility which may be useful for you in the future. We have passed on your comments regarding the smell in the ensuite to the housekeeper. However, had you made us aware of this issue during your stay we could have had the housekeeper visit to resolve the issue. Nevertheless we do hope these issues did not detract too much from your stay and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Characterful cottage in great location”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A kitchen and living room upstairs and bedrooms downstairs for good value at under £50 each if there's 4 of you.

Great location down a fairly quiet street in Grasmere.

No towels/toilet roll so you have to provide your own but there is a washerdrier/oven/hoover/ironing board/iron/radio with an aux lead(poor reception area).

The ceiling in the small room with a double bed does drip water when it rains which could do with getting fixed as the downstairs house is very slightly damp.

Parking permit included for the local council car parks for a single car.

Brilliant mini-break. Would stop there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Rowan Cottage. We are delighted you had a brilliant mini break and enjoyed the great location of this lovely cottage. It is great to hear that you would stay there again and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drin100
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location and facilities”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Travelled with son and his family for half term break.
Cottage is ideally placed for all amenities and walks. Included parking permit allows you to park on the Pay & Display carpark just 100 metres away.
Bedrooms are well presented although rear double is a little cosy.
Added extras included Coffee percolator, Good music system and good quality cook and dishware. Also Wifi is available and is reasonably fast.
Upside down format suited us with comfortable lounge, kitchen diner and toilet upstairs and bedrooms and 2 bathrooms down stairs.
Didn't find noise too bad downstairs, yes you do get a few vehicles and walkers from about 8am onwards but it was acceptable.
Cottage was being redecorated the week after we left so should be even better!
We would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Rear bedroom a little tight
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Rowan Cottage, Grasmere. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would stay here again. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacTravel...
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A comfortable and convenient holiday rental”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We loved this property right in the centre of Grasmere. We loved that it was upside down ie bedrooms on the ground floor and kitchen/diner and living room upstairs to enjoy the views and bay window. It was very clean and comfortable with beautiful bed linens and a homely feel throughout. The fact that there is no outside seating area matters little with a pub garden next door and lovely walks originating in the village itself. Might be more of an issue with children. Only one car parking permit so we also had to pay £30 for a second car for the week. We also had a third car but managed to alternate and also find places without double yellow lines further out of centre. We were there to attend a wedding at the Daffodil Hotel so it was a perfect place for us as we could walk there and back. We had a few minor issues in the property but they wouldn't prevent us booking again. We found the fridge too cold (our vegetables froze!) the oven temperature not at all clear, the downstairs loo flush inadequate and no working lock on the bathroom door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: the loo flush and no lock on bathroom door
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Rowan Cottage, Grasmere.

We are delighted you enjoyed the location of the property and the layout of the property was suitable for your needs.

Thank you for your comments regarding the oven and fridge. We will forward this to our Windermere office, who manage the property to bring these comments to their attention.

We are delighted to learn you would return to Rowan Cottage and Lakes Cottage Holidays look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochaber
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Mar 2014
Thank you for your review of Rowan Cottage

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found this property warm and cosy. We hope that we can welcome you back to Rowan Cottage again in the future.

Kind Regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
Tel 017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicestershire
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool
Reviewed 19 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing