We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenthorne Guest House
Ranked #11 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

OK but could be much better with a little effort. Rather 'institutional' and would be much improved with some homely touches - and ditch the plastic flowers. Food okay. But cramming breakfast on to tiny plates does not full anyone into thinking that its a reasonable portion. Pack lunches looked mediocre so don"t bother. They don't change the towels so remember to go along and beg for more if you normally use clean, dry ones. And .don"t expect your bathroom and toilet to be cleaned because they don't do that either. At least they didn't for us! Take a torch because their outside lights aren't" working

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

I have been staying at Glenthorne for almost 50 years and have wonderful memories of family holidays. The location is just perfect for anyone who loves the lakes and wants to walk. There is a whole range of walks leaving right from Glenthorne. No need to have a car when you stay here. Staff are kind and welcome everyone. Accommodation is clean but simple.

Room Tip: check with staff before you book if you have any disabilities or require anything specific
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I would like to recommend Glenthorne Country Guest House in Grasmere England for anyone who desires to stay at a place that has a soul-deep peace and beauty. Their Quaker heritage translates into a welcome refuge from the frantic contemporary pace of life. However at no time is the Quaker way imposed on guests. There is indeed a strong sense of individual freedom at Glenthorne that helped me to be more aware of my unique humanity even while I responded to some of the lovely fellow guests.

The rooms have a simple and fragrant elegance with which no amount of high end luxury can compete. Every detail speak of the authentic care that the staff of Glenthorne put into all aspects of the guest house

Also, the guest house's location a bit down the road from the charming village of Grasmere adds to the delight I feel when I am at Glenthorne. And then there are the magnificent green hills surrounding both Glenthorne and the village. No wonder Wordsworth thought the Grasmere area was one of the most beautiful places on earth. And Glenthorne, in my view, is the best place from which to view that beauty.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3traveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The Glenthorne is a Quaker retreat, but welcomes travelers of all sorts. I stopped in Grasmere for two nights as part of walking the C2C. At check in there was a form that asked the purpose of my visit. "Rest and recuperation" was one of the options, and that was exactly what I needed after three hard days of walking. The guests were very friendly and welcoming. It seems to attract a nice group of people. My room was very comfortable with a lovely view of the fells. Wordsworth is a ubiquitous theme in Grasmere; in the case of the Glenthorne, it seems Wordsworth's cows slept here. The guest rooms are in a converted barn. His cows had very solid accommodation. The Glenthorne is just a short way from the center of Grasmere. I highly recommend it.

Dinners are at a set time. I think their policy may be that if you are staying only one night you need to take the evening meal as well as the room. I appreciated the Quaker moment of silence at the start of the meal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elmcityjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This was most unexpected. My travel company booked me into a Quaker run B&B.
The meals were arranged for certain times, which may not suit everyone.

There is a time of silence before meals. Which I quite liked.

The rooms are clean and comfortable and simple.

The WI-FI was only working in a small area near the reception desk. There are plans to improve it.

Room Tip: There are room in the main building and rooms in the grounds. If it is raining it would be better t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faithcharity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Lovely location. Comfortable bed. Food average for the price. A little disappointed that they do not seem to be used to catering for different food 'disciplines'. Had to ask again and again for non cows milk or vegan food and being a Quaker establishment that was suprising.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cuthbert140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This guest house was comfy and simple, with a good drying room for wet clothes. The setup in common areas and the breakfast room doesn't allow for much privacy, so expect to have strangers chat you up.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Lancrigg
The Lancrigg
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenthorne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenthorne Guest House

Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range: £109 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenthorne is run as a Quaker establishment but is open to all. Our charitable work depends on a varied use of the guest house during the year and we welcome a rich diversity of guests. We are conveniently located on the "Coast to Coast" path and walking groups regularly use Glenthorne as a base. Individuals and families come to take advantage of the facilities we offer. We have a large car park at the rear of the property, so parking is not an issue.Its location, within 5 minutes walk of the centre of Grasmere village, with open views over the fells makes it an ideal choice for holiday-makers of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Glenthorne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenthorne Country Guest House Hotel Grasmere
Glenthorne Guest House Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing