We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quaker”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenthorne Guest House
Ranked #11 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I was here for a weekend with a group. A good time was had by all. The Glenthorne is conveniently situaited close to the village and is perfect as a base for walking, shopping or visiting nearby sights such as Dove Cottage. My room was very nice (ensuite) with a comfy bed and tea making facilities. Breakfast was full English with tea/coffee/toast and various juices. The evening meal was made to order so service was a bit slow but once the food came it was very nice. All drinks were extra. The staff were pleasant and helful and made the beds every day. I wouldn't call the Glenthorne your classic Lakes guest house since it has been vastly extended giving it a bit of an institutional feel but it is certainly very well appointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyBManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

I haven't stayed here for many years, but have such vivid memories of some great walking holidays whilst staying at Glenthorne. The views from the hotel and nearby are spectacular and it was always very comfortable and friendly.
A McCarthy

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed just one night during my C2C walk. Nice clean place. Nothing bad about it. Good location if one is doing theC2C walk. Town center is just a short walk away where several nice restaurants are located.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Manager at Glenthorne Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Glenthorne is an ideal place for walking holidays as we are surrounded by beautiful fells.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed here whilst doing the C2C. It was immaculate, and yes, the annex is a bit institutional, but it is a Quaker house, and it was actually more comfortable than I expected. The room was small but functional, the food was very good (although I agree that the tiny plates were frustrating at breakfast) and the company was vary varied and interesting. There's a summer house on the lawn to relax in, and a stile straight into the local paths.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lol4874Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

OK but could be much better with a little effort. Rather 'institutional' and would be much improved with some homely touches - and ditch the plastic flowers. Food okay. But cramming breakfast on to tiny plates does not full anyone into thinking that its a reasonable portion. Pack lunches looked mediocre so don"t bother. They don't change the towels so remember to go along and beg for more if you normally use clean, dry ones. And .don"t expect your bathroom and toilet to be cleaned because they don't do that either. At least they didn't for us! Take a torch because their outside lights aren't" working

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I have been staying at Glenthorne for almost 50 years and have wonderful memories of family holidays. The location is just perfect for anyone who loves the lakes and wants to walk. There is a whole range of walks leaving right from Glenthorne. No need to have a car when you stay here. Staff are kind and welcome everyone. Accommodation is clean but simple.

Room Tip: check with staff before you book if you have any disabilities or require anything specific
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I would like to recommend Glenthorne Country Guest House in Grasmere England for anyone who desires to stay at a place that has a soul-deep peace and beauty. Their Quaker heritage translates into a welcome refuge from the frantic contemporary pace of life. However at no time is the Quaker way imposed on guests. There is indeed a strong sense of individual freedom at Glenthorne that helped me to be more aware of my unique humanity even while I responded to some of the lovely fellow guests.

The rooms have a simple and fragrant elegance with which no amount of high end luxury can compete. Every detail speak of the authentic care that the staff of Glenthorne put into all aspects of the guest house

Also, the guest house's location a bit down the road from the charming village of Grasmere adds to the delight I feel when I am at Glenthorne. And then there are the magnificent green hills surrounding both Glenthorne and the village. No wonder Wordsworth thought the Grasmere area was one of the most beautiful places on earth. And Glenthorne, in my view, is the best place from which to view that beauty.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3traveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand at Grasmere
Grand at Grasmere
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenthorne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenthorne Guest House

Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range: £109 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenthorne is run as a Quaker establishment but is open to all. Our charitable work depends on a varied use of the guest house during the year and we welcome a rich diversity of guests. We are conveniently located on the "Coast to Coast" path and walking groups regularly use Glenthorne as a base. Individuals and families come to take advantage of the facilities we offer. We have a large car park at the rear of the property, so parking is not an issue.Its location, within 5 minutes walk of the centre of Grasmere village, with open views over the fells makes it an ideal choice for holiday-makers of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Glenthorne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenthorne Country Guest House Hotel Grasmere
Glenthorne Guest House Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing