We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$320
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe(Grasmere)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$255
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
216
48
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
48
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthanks mikecoast to coastpack lunchesroll top bathpacked lunchstunning viewsshort walklake districtb and bbreakfast was deliciousbed and breakfastcomfortable roomon arrivalhome from homefull englishtwo nightswalk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We are a few days into the Coast to Coast. Our accommodations so far have ticked all the boxes for cleanliness, facilities etc, but this one sticks out as a bit special. It's a little out of Grasmere, but worth the walk for the beautiful decor and a wonderfully welcoming, helpful host. Not a lot of space in our room but it was so beautifully presented and cosy, we didn't mind. Breakfast room was lovely. I'd stay there again

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wainwright B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Chestnut Villa is an extended semi on the edge of Grasmere. For C2C walkers its ideal, right on the route and within easy reach of a decent pub, for longer stays the situation might be a bit outside the town. Having said that the view from our room was spectacular, the welcome was warm and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Not a great location for Grasmere as sitting in the outskirts on the busy road to Keswick. Our room was small, only just big enough for the two beds, with a v compact shower and loo.

But the owners were very friendly and welcoming, breakfast was good and its clean and tidy.

Request one of the back rooms which look out over the fells...a. lovely view.

On balance not a bad place to stay on the C2C....but if you can you may want to stay in the centre of the village.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back looking over the fells.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We had a lovely weekend here.very easy to reach by bus but with a remote feel. the welcoming service started before we arrived with very helpful directions when we called.
We were the only guests on night one so breakfast was arranged for when ever we wanted(not early!).the room was lovely,comfy bed,good views and good shower.
The food and breakfast room was very nice and the whole service and atmosphere was really warm and cheery.
I'd go back in a flash!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aledj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Just stayed in a twin room for 2 nights with a friend. Amazed at the value! Fantastic view from our beds in room 6. Hosts care about the guests and decor. Lovely breakfast, beautiful lounge with patio doors off to a garden. Room very cozy/compact but compare with other lakes b and bs. I would recommend to anyone wanting a place to stay in Grasmere which is a short and pleasant stroll away. If you are tall and like a shower, I wouldn't choose a top-floor room although they do have gorgeous decor and views, if you're fine with a bath, worth the compromise I'd say.

Room Tip: Top floor doubles have bathrooms in eaves with restricted headroom for hand-held shower standing up but full bath tub. Beautiful views from all rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STynetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews