We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/08
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe(Grasmere)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
216
48
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
48
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthanks mikecoast to coastpack lunchesroll top bathpacked lunchstunning viewsshort walklake districtb and bbreakfast was deliciousbed and breakfastcomfortable roomon arrivalhome from homefull englishtwo nightswalk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed there last night (A Saturday night in August 2013). On arrival we were met by Mike who was super friendly and gave us some great advice about our stay in the area. As we were first there we also got the choice from a couple of immaculately clean and well decorated rooms. We went with RM 8 which was at the very top of the house and we were very happy with our choice!
The bed was comfy and the breakfast next morning was worth getting up for and included one of the nicest cooked English breakfasts I've ever had. Superb!
So if you are looking for a nice B&B which is friendly, well looked after, great value for money, within a short walk of Grasmere AND with a breakfast to die for this is your place! Excellent!

Room Tip: Room 8 Was Nice!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g4lly1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Newly renovated B&B with bright and light rooms. You might want to opt for a room on the backside as the road can be a bit noisy. The host is super friendly and makes you feel welcome. The lounge area is rather dull and could do with a loving touch.. But breakfast room cosy and the food tasty..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlethaandOle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My wife and I stopped here for two nights during our coast to coast walk in August 2013. We had a very nice double room with ensuite. Breakfasts were great (even had Vegimite). Packed lunches and credit card. Good location just outside of the crowded town centre (5 min walk). Mike was a great host. Nothing bad to say about the Chestnut Villa.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

If you don't want to pay over the odds for a stay in the Lake District, then I highly recommend you stay at the Chestnut Villa. It's immaculately clean, rooms tastefully decorated, and it has little touches like fluffy white towels, and very nice extras; not your cheap run of the mill soap or shower gel here. Yes, the rooms are on the small side, but you will be out walking the fells and enjoying the fantastic scenery so why do you need a big room? The owners make you feel so welcome and the freshly cooked breakfasts are well worth forsaking your lie-in; service is between 8am to 9am. Lovely views from the rear bedroom windows. We ordered a packed lunch and it was delicious! Half way up to Easedale Tarn it was a welcome suprise to open our bags and see what was inside. To summarise - friendly welcome and fantastic service, 10 out of 10 for cleanliness, great location, great value for money. Go and stay!

Room Tip: Room 9 at the top has the best views, but no shower, (just mixer taps on bath) so we stayed in room 3, still great views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

A really lovely place to stay and excellent value. Our room was beautifully furnished with a fantastic shower en-suite and a comfortable bed. Breakfast was very good indeed and we will certainly stay here again as we love Grasmere, and Chestnut Villa is competitively priced and very welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews