We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Chestnut Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chestnut Villa
Ranked #3 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Had a midweek break at Chestnut Villa last week with my partner and her daughter, and would happily go back again. Great location if you like walking the fells - just a stones throw from Helm Crag. The rooms are spotless, service is very good, Mike and the staff were friendly, and the breakfast was very nice too; there was plenty on offer, so there's no reason to leave the table hungry if you have a big appetite. Mike is a great host, and you can tell that he cares about the service he delivers to his guests. I thoroughly recommend the Chestnut Villa.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    45
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
160
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Lovely rooms, very clean, great views, gorgeous breakfasts, and very helpful and friendly owner. Also good value for money. We've stayed there twice over the past couple of years, and will be staying again this weekend for a friend's wedding. The first time we went, we arrived in the dark, and awoke to the most amazing view of the fell opposite. Wouldn't stay anywhere else when I'm the area! Can highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeKat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at Chestnut Villa. Mike is a great host, and very helpful. Really enjoyed talking with him. A lot of effort has gone in to making the rooms and dining/lounge area very comfortable. The breakfast was good. Only suggestion would be to improve wifi.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Providant09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

From the moment I stepped into Chestnut Villa I felt warm and at home .

Mike is the most genuine , warm person you will ever meet and his bed and breakfast is testament to his loveable nature . His attention to detail is second to none and I can put hand on heart and say , it is the best bed and breakfast I have stayed in .

I am slightly OCD with regards to cleanliness but no need to worry at chestnut villa . It is spotless , so much so I was walking about in my bare feet , something I never do ,

The breakfast was superb and cooked to order . Plenty fruit and cereals and coffee .

I will return without hesitation and it is a hidden gem .

Thank you Mike for a wonderful experience .

Lots of love Joanne xxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Mike welcomed us on arrival and was a lovely and extremely helpful guy throughout our stay. We had a choice of two very clean and tastefully decorated rooms, of which we chose the one in the attic with a beautiful view. It was by far the most comfortable bed my girlfriend and I slept in over the 7 days we spent in the Lakes. I was also a big fan of Mike and co. bucking the trend of having pictures of the Lake District everywhere (yawn); instead they had lots of herdwick sheep pictures everywhere. Very cool and amusing.

The breakfast arrangements were very neat and forward-thinking; each guest filled out a little card choosing different items they'd like for breakfast the following day and what time they'd be expecting to go downstairs, this was then left by the reception. When you went for breakfast you just told the host when you were ready to eat. It was simple but a really great way of organising breakfast and making sure food didn't go to waste. The food itself was nice and there was plenty to choose from.

Off-street parking was a bit of a squeeze but not too problematic. All in all it was a great stay and we hope to return in future as it's a good base in the centre of the Lakes. Grasmere too is one of the quaintest and most picturesque villages we saw while there too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Mike and his team were simply geat. I have been to Chestnut Villa in the past, Mike and his team have done a wonderful job in modernising the rooms as it states on the website. The breakfast was superb as usual. Looking forward to my next stay already .....

Room Tip: Room number 9 for great views, Room 5 for a very modern Shower-room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pranab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed there last night (A Saturday night in August 2013). On arrival we were met by Mike who was super friendly and gave us some great advice about our stay in the area. As we were first there we also got the choice from a couple of immaculately clean and well decorated rooms. We went with RM 8 which was at the very top of the house and we were very happy with our choice!
The bed was comfy and the breakfast next morning was worth getting up for and included one of the nicest cooked English breakfasts I've ever had. Superb!
So if you are looking for a nice B&B which is friendly, well looked after, great value for money, within a short walk of Grasmere AND with a breakfast to die for this is your place! Excellent!

Room Tip: Room 8 Was Nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g4lly1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,180 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,202 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Villa

Property: Chestnut Villa
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnut Villa comprises eight cosy rooms, each with en-suite shower or bath. The rooms all come with tea and coffee facilities, colour TV and hairdryers. Each room offers a panoramic view of the surrounding fells - a vista that can also be enjoyed from the large, comfortable visitors’ lounge and spacious dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Chestnut Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Villa Hotel Grasmere
Chestnut Villa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing