We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bright and welcoming B & B”
Review of Chestnut Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chestnut Villa
Ranked #3 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bilston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable bright and welcoming B & B”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed for a one night last minute stopover between Scotland and the Midlands (home) and were very pleased with the accommodation.
Clean and bright rooms with a comfortable modern feel.
The welcome was warm and friendly and food was excellent.
The choice of breakfast menu was outstanding and the staff were friendly, smartly dressed and accommodating.
The en suite facilities were adequate for an overnight stay with the hand basin in the bedroom itself, but this was fine. The bed was very comfortable.
I would not hesitate to recommend this venue as we found it to be lovely.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are a similar standard but did not see the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    45
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
154
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Our fourth stop on our coast to coast walk took us to this slightly disappointing stop where the welcome was a little lacking and the rooms cramped. The shower room was so small that the basin had had to be placed in the bedroom. That said the room was well equipped and the bed comfortable. We did make brief use of the large residents lounge and the airy, spacious breakfast room delivered a great breakfast with friendly, smiley service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noggins_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We had two nights at Chestnut Villa on the coast to coast.we arrived after a wet day. Michael and the staff were very helpful. The beds and rooms were great and good breakfast. They were also very accommodating with washing and allowing us to take over the lounge by our party for pre-dinner nibbles. Highly recommended, although a bit away from the centre of Grasmere.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We spent one night in this lovely B&B as we walked the Coast to Coast Path in August, 2013.
Michael welcomed us warmly to what was his family home. He and his partner have done a wonderful job of updating with contemporary fabrics and color schemes. If you're tired of chintz and quirky china collections, this tasteful B&B is for you. They have kept the traditional structure of the home, but added comfortable amenities. The home is conveniently located for a visit to Grasmere or for those on the C2C. I wish we could have stayed longer, but we trudged off into the rain the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlyred52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Had a midweek break at Chestnut Villa last week with my partner and her daughter, and would happily go back again. Great location if you like walking the fells - just a stones throw from Helm Crag. The rooms are spotless, service is very good, Mike and the staff were friendly, and the breakfast was very nice too; there was plenty on offer, so there's no reason to leave the table hungry if you have a big appetite. Mike is a great host, and you can tell that he cares about the service he delivers to his guests. I thoroughly recommend the Chestnut Villa.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Lovely rooms, very clean, great views, gorgeous breakfasts, and very helpful and friendly owner. Also good value for money. We've stayed there twice over the past couple of years, and will be staying again this weekend for a friend's wedding. The first time we went, we arrived in the dark, and awoke to the most amazing view of the fell opposite. Wouldn't stay anywhere else when I'm the area! Can highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeKat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at Chestnut Villa. Mike is a great host, and very helpful. Really enjoyed talking with him. A lot of effort has gone in to making the rooms and dining/lounge area very comfortable. The breakfast was good. Only suggestion would be to improve wifi.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Providant09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,154 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
829 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
482 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Villa

Property: Chestnut Villa
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnut Villa comprises eight cosy rooms, each with en-suite shower or bath. The rooms all come with tea and coffee facilities, colour TV and hairdryers. Each room offers a panoramic view of the surrounding fells - a vista that can also be enjoyed from the large, comfortable visitors’ lounge and spacious dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Chestnut Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Villa Hotel Grasmere
Chestnut Villa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing