We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good B&B in Grasmere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chestnut Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chestnut Villa
Ranked #3 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good B&B in Grasmere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed in this B&B while on the Coast to Coast walk and found it very comfortable and the host particularly helpful. He even offered to do our washing. Only a short walk from the heart of Grasmere.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    45
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
151
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We have recently returned from the lakes and managed a one night stay at this great little B&B. It was a last minute booking, because we decided to stay over due to the good weather, and we were overjoyed to be given a small but good twin room at the rear of the house. The views were great and we had everything we needed. The B&B is also only a short walk from the centre of Grasmere, so no need to get the car out if you want to walk around the area. The breakfasts were very good and there is no need to leave the villa hungry. A great little find. Thanks to Michael and his staff.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear are much quieter because the villas is next to the road, but the views are gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redhead180259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed for a one night last minute stopover between Scotland and the Midlands (home) and were very pleased with the accommodation.
Clean and bright rooms with a comfortable modern feel.
The welcome was warm and friendly and food was excellent.
The choice of breakfast menu was outstanding and the staff were friendly, smartly dressed and accommodating.
The en suite facilities were adequate for an overnight stay with the hand basin in the bedroom itself, but this was fine. The bed was very comfortable.
I would not hesitate to recommend this venue as we found it to be lovely.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are a similar standard but did not see the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Our fourth stop on our coast to coast walk took us to this slightly disappointing stop where the welcome was a little lacking and the rooms cramped. The shower room was so small that the basin had had to be placed in the bedroom. That said the room was well equipped and the bed comfortable. We did make brief use of the large residents lounge and the airy, spacious breakfast room delivered a great breakfast with friendly, smiley service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noggins_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We had two nights at Chestnut Villa on the coast to coast.we arrived after a wet day. Michael and the staff were very helpful. The beds and rooms were great and good breakfast. They were also very accommodating with washing and allowing us to take over the lounge by our party for pre-dinner nibbles. Highly recommended, although a bit away from the centre of Grasmere.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We spent one night in this lovely B&B as we walked the Coast to Coast Path in August, 2013.
Michael welcomed us warmly to what was his family home. He and his partner have done a wonderful job of updating with contemporary fabrics and color schemes. If you're tired of chintz and quirky china collections, this tasteful B&B is for you. They have kept the traditional structure of the home, but added comfortable amenities. The home is conveniently located for a visit to Grasmere or for those on the C2C. I wish we could have stayed longer, but we trudged off into the rain the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlyred52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Had a midweek break at Chestnut Villa last week with my partner and her daughter, and would happily go back again. Great location if you like walking the fells - just a stones throw from Helm Crag. The rooms are spotless, service is very good, Mike and the staff were friendly, and the breakfast was very nice too; there was plenty on offer, so there's no reason to leave the table hungry if you have a big appetite. Mike is a great host, and you can tell that he cares about the service he delivers to his guests. I thoroughly recommend the Chestnut Villa.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Villa

Property: Chestnut Villa
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnut Villa comprises eight cosy rooms, each with en-suite shower or bath. The rooms all come with tea and coffee facilities, colour TV and hairdryers. Each room offers a panoramic view of the surrounding fells - a vista that can also be enjoyed from the large, comfortable visitors’ lounge and spacious dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Chestnut Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Villa Hotel Grasmere
Chestnut Villa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing