We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bat at Halloween”
Review of Tweedies Bar

Tweedies Bar
Ranked #9 of 45 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$47
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,319 reviews
823 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 684 helpful votes
“A Bat at Halloween”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Great bar with live music at weekends. Suits most age groups. Not a real ale drinker but tried a Cricket Bat of 3 one third pints of 3 different ales and then tried another. Novel idea and added to the experience.

Would return. Few other options in Grasmere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    450
    167
    80
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Beware the hot drinks...”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

...because the customer before me was having what looked like a hot chocolate being prepared and when the barman finished stirring it - spoon straight into his mouth and onto the prep bar.
Big question is - was a fresh spoon used for the next hot drink?? Or did he use the spoon that last visited his tonsils? Only he knows!
So, stick with the beers, they are always good. The food is pricey for what you get, it's bar food at posh hotel prices.
Despite my negative comments, Tweedie's remains the best bar in Grasmere and it's where we always head for a good ale. Forget the hot chocolate!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wainwright007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Ideal for real ale lovers”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

It surprises me that none of the hotels in Grasmere serve real ale so the only place to go is Tweedies Bar which also does a good line in pub food and holds regular live music nights. Rough, ready, warm and welcoming it fills a gap in the market that no-one else does.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tweedies bar staff”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We visited our favourite Grasmere bar on 23rd and 24th October for welcome drinks after fellwalking. The quality and selection of the draught beers was up to the usual high standard. The sole barman on duty on the 23rd was not particularly welcoming and had a very surly attitude ( his accent semed to be American). However, normal friendly service was resumed on the 24th with two excellent local barmen on duty.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great beer and atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Along a side road away from the center of Grasmere, we fell into this restaurant on a wet autumn day and couldn't have felt more at home with other hikers, dog owners and beer lovers. Ordered the beer bat so we could sample several excellent real ales. Food was tasty and quickly served despite the crowds. We'll be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kirstine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tweedies Bar also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Tweedies Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing