We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greens Cafe & Bistro

Greens Cafe & Bistro
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Friendly local cafe and bistro specialising in home cooked meals and home baked cakes. Wide range of special diets catered for including gluten free, dairy free, vegetarian, vegan and meat lovers too!
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We found this place by accident, lovely food, relaxing place to watch the world go by on a sunny afternoon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank radfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    146
    36
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We ate here twice, once for tea and scones and the second for evening meal both times were excellent and both time foods was perfect. Many thanks for fitting us in during a busy period.

The lamb curry was divine!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ezzavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We only stopped for a drink but were attracted by the look of the place. We were not disappointed when we went inside. Had it been the right time of the day we would have liked to stay for a meal. The prices looked reasonable and the menu was varied

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A delightful Cafe/Restaurant in tranquil Grassmere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I visited Greens last year as a foursome, and we had a short break from driving. Soup and tea were our requirements. The home made soups were absolutely superb tasting and served with wholesome home made bread. There is a full menu of fresh made meals for the day and specials as well. The place is spotlessly clean, including the toilets, and the staff are attentive and helpful. I was back in the restaurant/cafe again with my wife, who wanted soup and a roll from the special of the day. Nothing had changed it was still as good as ever and you can have a large or small soup depending on your requirements

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stewart_lawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Probably the best cafe in Grasmere, we've stayed in and around Grasmere for the last ten years and this cafe beats the rest today. Excellent range of food particularly if you want vegetarian, gluten free, dairy free or meat, the staff are very accommodating. Excellent menu. I had a soup and BLT followed by hot chocolate and tiffin, all as excellent. My wife had the special platter which comprised of humus, salad, quinoa, nuts, seeds, artichoke, olives and much more, she described the food as superb, healthy home made food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank columchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greens Cafe & Bistro also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Greens Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing