We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food ,friendly staff”

Greens Cafe & Bistro
Ranked #4 of 46 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Friendly local cafe and bistro specialising in home cooked meals and home baked cakes. Wide range of special diets catered for including gluten free, dairy free, vegetarian, vegan and meat lovers too!
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food ,friendly staff”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

With being used to top restaurants everywhere we go it seemed different to eat in a cafe type establishment on holiday but very surprised at the food as it was really good and the staff were great,nice to eat somewhere normal that felt like being at home,we shall go back one day

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 186377Garyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    163
    40
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So good to be back at Greens again”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful lunch here yesterday with my hubby and brought my Dad and Step-Mum back here for dinner. Hubby said his salmon was superb and there's even more gluten-free options for me than last year :-)

Helpful?
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lunch stop on a very wet day”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Busy and pleasant cafe.

We ordered 2 soups and a salad to share. Presentation was good, but there was too much salt in the soup, even for my husband's taste, and too much oil in the salad dressing.

A good place to eat if your party is a mixture of omnivores, vegetarians, vegans and gluten free.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank imageimation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely gluten free food”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Really lovely gluten free food, never eaten anywhere with so much choice for veggies and those who need to follow a gluten free diet. The gluten free sticky toffee pudding in particular was delicious, wish I lived in Grasmere! Also have a very good choice of gluten free sandwiches to take away. Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALouise12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Pity about dogs”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The food was really good and plentiful with a great range of vegetarian and vegan options and very reasonable prices. Four of us had a filling lunch with soft drinks for a little over £40. Only one drawback which reduced the rating. They allow dogs into the dining area (not just guide dogs) which is a dirty habit. Why cant people who insist on having their dogs at the table be put in kennels to eat rather than the rest of us having to tolerate the barking and farting while we have our meal?

Helpful?
Thank staffordfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greens Cafe & Bistro also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Greens Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing