We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place great find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greens Cafe & Bistro

Greens Cafe & Bistro
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Friendly local cafe and bistro specialising in home cooked meals and home baked cakes. Wide range of special diets catered for including gluten free, dairy free, vegetarian, vegan and meat lovers too!
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely place great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

What a great little find x fab menu choices for us veggies x we dined on one of their Bistro evenings the food was amazing x great atmosphere x great service x

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    146
    36
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Heysham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, good cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Visited for a vegatarian friends birthday. Nice and simple surroundings, great food, nice prices. There are loads of cafés in grasmere and this stacks up as one of the best. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had lunch here as our normal stop while in Grasmere (Baldry's) was full. We were not disappointed. We both had the soup of the day, which was mushroom. The service was prompt and we soon both had a large bowl of hot soup with a large roll in front of us. Soup was excellent and good value for money. Will certainly return again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahanddarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Green"s in Grasmere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

To sit outside this place on a beautiful sunny day is just perfect. I've noticed recently that the best eating places in the Lake District always have someone who is attentive and manages the delivery of the menu and a nice friendly greeting.
Green"s is well organised and has a great menu at mid range prices,but with great quality. Everything was so nice and it inspires a relaxed feeling for the minute you sit down. I will remember this place till my next visit…..please visit. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Garry92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lake District”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Friendly staff. Nice vegetarian meals for a family of five. Pleasant atmosphere. Would definitely visit here again. Particularly recommend the fruit tea!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane_Brophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greens Cafe & Bistro also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Greens Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing